Cory Joseph Named All-NBA D-League Second Team

April 26, 2013

NEW YORK – Andrew Goudelock, the 2013 NBA Development League Most Valuable Player and a current member of the Los Angeles Lakers, headlines the 2013 NBA D-League First Team, as voted on by the league’s 16 head coaches. Goudelock is joined by Bakersfield Jam guard Jerel McNeal, now a member of the Utah Jazz, Tony Mitchell, the 2013 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year and a Fort Wayne Mad Ants forward, Sioux Falls Skyforce forward and NBA veteran Demetris Nichols and Jam center Brian Butch.

Named to the Second Team were five players with NBA experience, including three currently on NBA rosters: Cory Joseph (Austin Toros/San Antonio Spurs), Kris Joseph (Springfield Armor/Brooklyn Nets) and Tim Ohlbrecht (Rio Grande Valley Vipers/ Rockets). Cory Joseph, Kris Joseph and Ohlbrecht are joined by GATORADE Call-Ups Travis Leslie of the Santa Cruz Warriors and Damion James of the Bakersfield Jam. Leslie and Ohlbrecht are currently competing against each other in the 2013 NBA D-League Finals.

All five players on the Third Team also have NBA experience, with two current NBA players, Justin Holiday (Idaho Stampede/Philadelphia 76ers) and DaJuan Summers (Maine Red Claws/Los Angeles Clippers), highlighting the squad. GATORADE Call-Ups Holiday and Summers are joined by Rio Grande Valley’s D.J. Kennedy, Maine’s Chris Wright, and Los Angeles’ Jerome Jordan.

In total, 13 of the 15 players selected to this year’s All-NBA D-League First, Second, and Third Teams have NBA experience, with eight earning GATORADE Call-Ups during the 2012-13 season and seven currently on NBA rosters. Of those seven, five are on NBA teams currently competing in the Playoffs.

An additional 12 players earned All-NBA D-League Honorable Mentions, including Santa Cruz’s Hilton Armstrong, Tulsa’s Rasual Butler, Texas’ Justin Dentmon, Canton’s Kyle Gibson, Santa Cruz’s Stefhon Hannah, Fort Wayne’s Ron Howard, Bakersfield’s Renaldo Major, Canton’s Arinze Onuaku, Tulsa’s Daniel Orton, on assignment from the Oklahoma City Thunder, Springfield’s Willie Reed, now a member of the Memphis Grizzlies, Reno’s Samardo Samuels, and Iowa’s Chris Wright.

Fifteen first-year professionals were selected to the 2013 NBA D-League All-Rookie First, Second and Third teams. The First Team is made up of 2013 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year Mitchell, along with Canton’s Jorge Gutierrez, Springfield’s Kris Joseph, now a member of the Brooklyn Nets, Maine’s Fab Melo, playing on the team on assignment from the Boston Celtics, and Santa Cruz’s Scott Machado, playing on the team on assignment from the Golden State Warriors. The Second Team is comprised of Canton’s Micheal Eric, Austin’s JaMychal Green, Rio Grande Valley’s Chris Johnson and Glen Rice, Jr., and Tulsa’s Dominique Sutton. The Third team features Idaho’s Carlon Brown, Bakersfield’s Chris Cooper, Rio Grande Valley’s Toure Murry, Bakersfield’s James Nunnally and Tulsa’s Tony Taylor.

The 2013 NBA D-League All-Defensive First Team is made up of the 2013 NBA D-League Defensive Player of the Year, Santa Cruz’ Hannah, along with Canton’s Gutierrez, Bakersfield’s James, Maine’s Melo and Maine’s Wright. The Second Team includes Santa Cruz’s Armstrong, Idaho’s Holiday, Austin’s Joseph, Rio Grande Valley’s Murry, and Maine’s Mark Tyndale. The Third Team is comprised of Santa Cruz’s Mickell Gladness, Iowa’s Othyus Jeffers, Los Angeles’ Elijah Millsap, Austin’s Chris Roberts and Fort Wayne’s Sadiel Rojas.

Four players who earned GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA during the 2012-13 NBA D-League season earned All-Rookie or All-Defensive team honors.