Four Sixers Named to NBA All-Star Ballot

PHILADELPHIA, PA. – NOVEMBER 13, 2012 – The 2013 NBA All-Star Ballot was unveiled today at a special event in Houston, which is the official host city of NBA All-Star 2013.  The Sixers have four players featured on the ballot.  Andrew Bynum, Spencer Hawes and Thaddeus Young are all frontcourt options while Jrue Holiday is the Sixers representative at guard. 

Bynum was voted a starter for the Western Conference in his first All-Star appearance last season while with the Los Angeles Lakers.  He was acquired by Philadelphia via a four-team trade back in August.  Bynum averaged career-highs of 18.7 points and 11.8 rebounds last season en route to earning All-NBA Second Team honors.

Hawes is in his third season with the Sixers and is second on the team in rebounding this season.  In 2011-12, the Sixers were 22-15 in games that he played and 13-16 in games that he missed.  Hawes had eight double-doubles in 37 games played last season after recording seven in 81 games played in 2010-11.

Holiday is averaging team-highs of 19.1 points and 9.0 assists this season.  The 22-year-old has already recorded three double-doubles this season after having one in 2011-12.  Holiday has started all but one game for the Sixers dating back to the start of the 2010-11 season.

Young is shooting a team-high 55.3% from the floor this season and entered 2012-13 shooting 50.8% for his career.  He has started all seven games this season after starting two games the previous two seasons combined.  Dating back to the start of 2010-11, Young has more steals (166) than turnovers (165). 

The 62nd NBA All-Star game will be exclusively televised on TNT from Toyota Center on Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013.  The All-Star Game, also broadcast live on ESPN Radio, will collectively reach fans in more than 220 countries and territories in more than 40 languages.

For the first time ever, NBA fans from around the world can vote for their favorite players as starters for the 2013 NBA All-Star Game via social media networks, including Facebook and Twitter, and Sina Weibo and Tencent QQ in China.   Fans can also place votes on, through SMS or by visiting on any wireless device.

Balloting will conclude on Jan. 14, and starters will be announced live on TNT on Jan. 17, during a special one-hour pregame show at 7 p.m. ET featuring Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal and Kenny Smith.

The NBA All-Star ballot lists 120 players – 60 each from the Eastern and Western conferences – with 36 frontcourt and 24 guards from each conference comprising the list. Voters select three frontcourt and two guards from each conference. Previously, the ballot featured three positions with fans picking two guards, two forwards and a center. 

The 120 players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media who regularly cover the NBA:  Steve Aschburner (, Jonathan Feigen (Houston Chronicle), Doug Smith (Toronto Star/PBWA), and Kenny Smith (TNT).