• Print

Parsons Named To All-Rookie Second Team

Parsons leading vote-getter among All-Rookie second team members

Parsons is the 18th Rocket to earn All-Rookie Team honors.

HOUSTON - Houston Rockets forward Chandler Parsons was voted to the 2011-12 NBA All-Rookie Second Team, which was announced today by the NBA as part of the All-Rookie Team announcement. Parsons (10 First Team and 13 Second Team, 33 points) was actually the leading vote-getter among the All-Rookie Second Team members. With the addition of Parsons, the Rockets have now had 18 players overall earn All-Rookie Team recognition, including four Houston rookies since 2005-06.

Parsons (6-9, 200, Florida), who was selected by Houston in the second round (38th overall) of the 2011 NBA Draft, averaged 9.5 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.16 steals in 63 games (57 starts). He ranked near the top of nearly every statistical category among NBA rookies, including fourth in steals per game (1.16), tied for sixth in rebounding average (4.8), tied for ninth in scoring (9.5) and 10th in assists per game (2.1). Parsons also notched two or more steals in 23 games, which was second on the Rockets (24 by Kyle Lowry). He reached double-digit scoring 30 times, including five 20-point performances (Rockets record: 3-2). Parsons was also a member of Team Texas for the Shooting Stars contest on All-Star Saturday Night in Orlando (2/25/12), which finished second to Team New York in the finals.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the First Team and five players for the Second Team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.

Below is a look at the all-time list of Rockets to earn All-Rookie Team selection:

All-Rookie First Team

1969 -- Elvin Hayes

1971 -- Calvin Murphy

1976 -- Joe C. Meriweather

1977 -- John Lucas Jr.

1984 -- Ralph Sampson

1985 -- Hakeem Olajuwon

2000 -- Steve Francis

2003 -- Yao Ming

2008 -- Luis Scola

Second Team

1984 -- Rodney McCray

1993 -- Robert Horry

1997 -- Matt Maloney

1999 -- Michael Dickerson

1999 -- Cuttino Mobley

2002 -- Eddie Griffin

2006 -- Luther Head

2008 -- Carl Landry

2012 -- Chandler Parsons