• Print

All Star Voting Now Open

Most Digitally Expansive Balloting Program in History Allows Fans to Vote on Facebook and Twitter for the First Time

HOUSTON, Nov. 13, 2012 – The National Basketball Association (NBA) and Sprint tipped off 2013 NBA All-Star Balloting today during a special event in Houston, the Official Host City of NBA All-Star 2013. NBA All-Star Balloting presented by Sprint will begin today at 3:30 p.m. ET.

2013 NBA All-Star Balloting presented by Sprint gives fans around the world the opportunity to vote daily for their favorite players as starters for the 2013 NBA All-Star Game in Houston. For the first time ever, NBA fans can vote via social media networks, including Facebook and Twitter, and Sina Weibo and Tencent QQ in China.

Twitter voting will allow fans to tweet a vote for one player each day throughout the All-Star balloting period. The tweet must include a player’s first and last name, along with hash tag #NBABALLOT. Facebook voting will allow fans to fill out one full ballot (three frontcourt and two guards from each conference) per day, through a custom application on Facebook.

Fans can also access the ballot and vote through the NBA Game Time and NBA Game Time from Sprint applications, available on Android and iOS. NBA fans can fill out one full ballot (three frontcourt and two guards from each conference) per day, through the NBA Game Time and NBA Game Time from Sprint application, the most comprehensive app in the marketplace for NBA fans.

There are several other ways fans can cast their votes as part of this season’s all-digital program including: in 11 languages on NBA.com/ASB, through SMS voting by texting the player's last name to 6-9-6-2-2 ("MYNBA") or by visiting NBA.com/ASB on any wireless device. Fans can vote for 10 different players per day, per phone number, via SMS voting by sending 10 separate SMS messages, each one with a different player's last name. Message and data rates may apply.

After submitting their All-Star selections, fans will have the ability to share them with their friends on Facebook and followers on Twitter, and encourage others to cast their ballots.

Balloting will conclude on Jan. 14, and starters will be announced live on TNT on Jan. 17, during a special one-hour pregame show at 7 p.m. ET featuring Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal and Kenny Smith. The special will air prior to TNT’s exclusive doubleheader featuring the Los Angeles Clippers at the Minnesota Timberwolves (8 p.m. ET) and the Miami Heat at the Los Angeles Lakers (10:30 p.m. ET).

The NBA All-Star ballot lists 120 players – 60 each from the Eastern and Western conferences – with 36 frontcourt and 24 guards from each conference comprising the list. Voters select three frontcourt and two guards from each conference. Previously, the ballot featured three positions with fans picking two guards, two forwards and a center.  

The 120 players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media who regularly cover the NBA: Steve Aschburner (NBA.com), Jonathan Feigen (Houston Chronicle), Doug Smith (Toronto Star/PBWA), and Kenny Smith (TNT).

The 62nd NBA All-Star Game will be exclusively televised on TNT from Toyota Center on Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013. The All-Star Game, also broadcast live on ESPN Radio, will collectively reach fans in more than 220 countries and territories in more than 40 languages. NBA All-Star 2013 in Houston will bring together some of the most talented and passionate players in the league’s history for a global celebration of the game. TNT will televise the All-Star Game for an 11th consecutive year, marking Turner Sports' 29th year of All-Star coverage. State Farm NBA All-Star Saturday Night will feature the NBA All-Star Shooting Stars, Taco Bell Skills Challenge, Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, and Sprite Slam Dunk. Other events at NBA All-Star 2013 will include the BBVA Rising Stars Challenge, Sprint NBA All-Star Celebrity Game, and NBA All-Star Jam Session. The 2013 game will mark the third NBA All-Star celebration in Houston. The city also hosted the event in 1989 and in 2006.





Afflalo Arron, Orlando

Allen Ray, Miami

Calderon Jose, Toronto

DeRozan DeMar, Toronto

Ellis Monta, Milwaukee

Felton Raymond, New York

George Paul, Indiana

Henderson Gerald, Charlotte

Hill George, Indiana

Hinrich Kirk, Chicago

Holiday Jrue, Philadelphia

Irving Kyrie, Cleveland

Jennings Brandon, Milwaukee

Johnson Joe, Brooklyn

Knight Brandon, Detroit

Lowry Kyle, Toronto

Rondo Rajon, Boston

Stuckey Rodney, Detroit

Teague Jeff, Atlanta

Terry Jason, Boston

Wade Dwyane, Miami

Walker Kemba, Charlotte

Wall John, Washington

Williams Deron, Brooklyn


Anthony Carmelo, New York

Bargnani Andrea, Toronto

Battier Shane, Miami

Boozer Carlos, Chicago

Bosh Chris, Miami

Bynum Andrew, Philadelphia

Casspi Omri, Cleveland

Chandler Tyson, New York

Dalembert Samuel, Milwaukee

Davis Glen, Orlando

Deng Luol, Chicago

Garnett Kevin, Boston

Gibson Taj, Chicago

Granger Danny, Indiana

Green Jeff, Boston

Harrington Al, Orlando

Hawes Spencer, Philadelphia

Hibbert Roy, Indiana

Horford Al, Atlanta

Humphries Kris, Brooklyn

Ilyasova Ersan, Milwaukee

James LeBron, Miami

Lopez Brook, Brooklyn

Monroe Greg, Detroit

Mullens Byron, Charlotte

Nene, Washington

Noah Joakim, Chicago

Okafor Emeka, Washington

Pierce Paul, Boston

Prince Tayshaun, Detroit

Smith Josh, Atlanta

Stoudemire Amar'e, New York

Varejao Anderson, Cleveland

Wallace Gerald, Brooklyn

West David, Indiana

Young Thaddeus, Philadelphia




Allen Tony, Memphis

Billups Chauncey, LA Clippers

Bryant Kobe, LA Lakers

Collison Darren, Dallas

Conley Mike, Memphis

Curry Stephen, Golden State

Dragic Goran, Phoenix

Evans Tyreke, Sacramento

Ginobili Manu, San Antonio

Gordon Eric, New Orleans

Harden James, Houston

Lawson Ty, Denver

Lin Jeremy, Houston

Martin Kevin, Oklahoma City

Matthews, Wesley, Portland

Mayo O.J., Dallas

Miller Andre, Denver

Nash Steve, LA Lakers

Parker Tony, San Antonio

Paul Chris, LA Clippers

Rubio Ricky, Minnesota

Thompson Klay, Golden State

Thornton Marcus, Sacramento

Westbrook Russell, Oklahoma City


Aldridge LaMarcus, Portland

Anderson Ryan, New Orleans

Asik Omer, Houston

Batum Nicolas, Portland

Bogut Andrew, Golden State

Cousins DeMarcus, Sacramento

Davis Anthony, New Orleans

Duncan Tim, San Antonio

Durant Kevin, Oklahoma City

Faried Kenneth, Denver

Favors Derrick, Utah

Gallinari Danilo, Denver

Gasol Marc, Memphis

Gasol Pau, LA Lakers

Gay Rudy, Memphis

Gortat Marcin, Phoenix

Griffin Blake, LA Clippers

Hill Grant, LA Clippers

Howard Dwight, LA Lakers

Ibaka Serge, Oklahoma City

Iguodala Andre, Denver

Jefferson Al, Utah

Kaman Chris, Dallas

Kirilenko Andrei, Minnesota

Lee David, Golden State

Leonard Kawhi, San Antonio

Love Kevin, Minnesota

Marion Shawn, Dallas

Millsap Paul, Utah

Nowitzki Dirk, Dallas

Parsons Chandler, Houston

Pekovic Nikola, Minnesota

Perkins Kendrick, Oklahoma City

Randolph Zach, Memphis

Scola Luis, Phoenix

World Peace Metta, LA Lakers