Go To:
  • ALT+A Toggle Accessibility Menu
  • ALT+H Home
  • ALT+1 Navigation
  • ALT+2 Main Content
  • ALT+3 Footer

Bosh And Bargnani Remain Among Positional Leaders In Eastern Conference Through Fourth All-Star Ballot Returns

CLICK HERE To Vote Your Raptors To The All-Star Game | Four Raptors On The 2010 NBA All-Star Ballot

January 7, 2009

Toronto Raptors forward Chris Bosh and centre Andrea Bargnani are third and fourth respectively in their positions following the fourth returns in the 2010 NBA All-Star Balloting presented by T-Mobile. Bosh stands third among Eastern Conference forwards with 724,317 votes, while Bargnani ranks fourth among centres with 168,684 votes. Guard Jose Calderon is ninth among guards and forward Hedo Turkoglu ranks 10th among forwards in the East.

Bosh is seeking his fifth consecutive All-Star appearance. The Dallas, Texas native – site of this year’s All-Star game – was selected as a reserve last season for the Eastern Conference squad. Bosh did not participate in the game at Phoenix due to a sprained knee, but did attend the All-Star Weekend festivities. Bosh currently leads the NBA with 26 double-doubles and is tied for fifth in rebounds (11.4) and eighth in scoring (23.6). Bargnani, the first overall pick in the 2006 NBA Draft, is seeking his first All-Star appearance. He currently ranks second in team scoring averaging a career-high 16.8 points and 6.1 rebounds.

Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers and Carmelo Anthony of the Denver Nuggets top the Western Conference, while LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers and Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat lead the Eastern Conference in the fourth returns of 2010 NBA All-Star Balloting presented by T-Mobile. Bryant, a three-time All-Star MVP, is the overall leader with 1,793,782 votes, while James, a two-time All-Star MVP, is second overall with 1,769,287. The 2010 NBA All-Star Game, which will air live on TSN in Canada, TNT and ESPN Radio in the U.S., and reach fans in more than 200 countries and territories in more than 40 languages, will be played at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, before an expected crowd of more than 80,000 – the largest group ever to witness a live basketball game – on Sunday, Feb. 14, 2010.

In the Western Conference, Bryant, who shared the MVP award with Shaquille O’Neal in last year’s All-Star Game and who also garnered the honor in 2002 and 2007, is followed at guard by the Houston Rockets’ (746,625). Anthony paces forwards in the West (1,568,259) with the Dallas Mavericks’ Dirk Nowitzki (826,130) second. The Suns’ Amar’e Stoudemire (1,304,470) is the leading vote-getter among Western Conference centres, with the Lakers’ Andrew Bynum (743,182) following.

The guards in the Eastern Conference are paced by Wade (1,719,359), followed by the Philadelphia 76ers’ Allen Iverson (930,713). While Iverson appears among Western Conference guards on the paper ballot because he began the season with Memphis, his votes count towards the Eastern Conference guards due to his signing with Philadelphia Dec. 3. James, a two-time All-Star MVP (2006, 2008), paces Eastern Conference forwards with 1,351,292 votes, followed by the Boston Celtics’ Kevin Garnett (1,467,365), MVP of the 2003 All-Star Game. The Orlando Magic’s Dwight Howard leads all centres with 1,681,897 votes; the Cavaliers’ O’Neal is second among centres in the East (609,486).

This marks the final balloting update leading up to the announcement of the All-Star starters on Thursday Jan. 21, prior to a TNT doubleheader. Following the completion of fan voting and the starting line-up announcement, the head coaches in each conference will vote to determine the remaining All-Stars in their respective conference, which will be announced Thursday, Jan. 28 prior to a TNT doubleheader.

The NBA All-Star ballot lists 120 players – 60 each from the Eastern and Western conferences – with 24 guards, 24 forwards, and 12 centres from each conference comprising the list. Voters select two guards, two forwards and one centre from each conference. The 120 players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media who regularly cover the NBA: Mike Breen (ABC/ESPN), Eddie Sefko (Dallas Morning News), Doug Smith (The Toronto Star and President, Pro Basketball Writers Association) Marc Spears (Yahoo! Sports), Marc Stein (ESPN.com) and Ian Thomsen (Sports Illustrated).

NBA All-Star 2010 in Dallas will bring together some of the most talented and passionate players in the league’s history for a global celebration of the game. The week leading up to the 59th NBA All-Star Game will feature a full slate of community-enhancing activities and fan festivals, including NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas and the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam. This will be the second NBA All-Star in Dallas. The city also hosted the event in 1986.

In conjunction with All-Star Balloting, 2K Sports will give fans the opportunity to experience Dallas and the best of basketball by entering the NBA® 2K10 Sweepstakes for a chance to win a trip to NBA All-Star 2010 and have their likeness as a digitized player incorporated in next year’s game, NBA® 2K11.

The leaders of both the Eastern and Western Conference players for the fourth returns of the 2010 NBA All-Star voting program are listed below:


Forwards: LeBron James (Cle) 1,769,287; Kevin Garnett (Bos) 1,467,365; Chris Bosh (Tor) 724,317; Paul Pierce (Bos) 366,234; Josh Smith (Atl) 334,338; Andre Iguodala (Phi) 228,343; Danny Granger (Ind) 213,371; Michael Beasley (Mia) 188,552; Rashard Lewis (Orl) 151,717; Hedo Turkoglu (Tor) 133,445; Caron Butler (Was) 110,003.

Guards: Dwyane Wade (Mia) 1,719,359; Allen Iverson (Phi) 930,713; Vince Carter (Orl) 745,581; Ray Allen (Bos) 510,885; Gilbert Arenas (Was) 445,473; Derrick Rose (Chi) 385,829; Joe Johnson (Atl) 329,100; Rajon Rondo (Bos) 269,566; Jose Calderon (Tor) 157,354; Mike Bibby (Atl) 155,078.

Centres: Dwight Howard (Orl) 1,681,897; Shaquille O'Neal (Cle) 609,486; Al Horford (Atl) 178,360; Andrea Bargnani (Tor) 168,684; Brook Lopez (NJ) 154,362; Andrew Bogut (Mil) 143,545; Jermaine O'Neal (Mia) 111,065; Rasheed Wallace (Bos) 87,590; Kendrick Perkins (Bos) 56,598; Samuel Dalembert (Phi) 53,880; Tyson Chandler (Cha) 44,279; Brad Miller (Chi) 40,182.


Forwards: Carmelo Anthony (Den) 1,568,259; Dirk Nowitzki (Dal) 826,130; Tim Duncan (SA) 776,225; Pau Gasol (LAL) 754,070; Kevin Durant (OKC) 556,847; Trevor Ariza (Hou) 504,725; Luis Scola (Hou) 437,944; Shawn Marion (Dal) 295,310; Ron Artest (LAL) 266,554; Lamar Odom (LAL) 194,567; LaMarcus Aldridge (Por) 177,663.

Guards: Kobe Bryant (LAL) 1,793,782; Tracy McGrady (Hou) 746,625; Steve Nash (Pho) 744,250; Chris Paul (NO) 701,417; Aaron Brooks (Hou) 443,369; Jason Kidd (Dal) 429,720; Chauncey Billups (Den) 310,281; Deron Williams (Utah) 285,185; Manu Ginobili (SA) 261,107; Brandon Roy (Por) 257,231; Tony Parker (SA) 248,951.

Centres: Amar’e Stoudemire (Pho) 1,304,470; Andrew Bynum (LAL) 743,182; Nene (Den) 261,295; Marc Gasol (Mem) 217,675; Antonio McDyess (SA) 157,346; Al Jefferson (Min) 146,773; Greg Oden (Por) 136,388; Marcus Camby (LAC) 121,981; Andris Biedrins (GS) 102,095; Mehmet Okur (Utah) 96,897; Emeka Okafor (NO) 94,685; Spencer Hawes (Sac) 31,767.

*While Allen Iverson appears among Western Conference guards on the paper ballot because he began the season with Memphis, his votes will count towards the Eastern Conference guards due to his signing with Philadelphia Dec. 3.