Palace of Auburn Hills Undergoes Change of Address

The Palace

The Palace of Auburn Hills.
D. Lippitt/Einstein (NBAE/Getty)
Auburn Hills, MI - Pull out your address books and grab your erasers basketball fans! Rick Mahorn, Bill Laimbeer, Swin Cash, Chauncey Billups and Katie Smith are making the change of address official at The Palace of Auburn Hills as they update the signage on the South Drive to Five Championship Drive.

The photo opportunity commemorating the change, featuring each of the aforementioned Shock and Pistons stars, will take place at approximately 11:30 a.m. following the Pistons shootaround (10:30 - 11:15 a.m.) and prior to Shock Media Day (2 - 3:30 p.m.) on Monday, April 23. Media are invited to attend and take still photos and video of the event.

Each Pistons and Shock personality in the photo represents one of the Palace’s five professional basketball championships - Mahorn (1988-89), Laimbeer (1989-90), Cash (2003), Billups (2003-04) and Smith (2006).

The Detroit Shock’s 3-2 series win over the Sacramento Monarchs in the 2006 WNBA Finals necessitated the change to the Postal Service records. It was the second championship in four seasons for the Shock, and the fourth in as many years for Palace Sports and Entertainment, which celebrated the Pistons’ NBA Championship in 2004, and the Tampa Bay Lightning title run that same year.