Pacers' Gerald Green Selected to Participate in Dunk Contest at NBA All-Star 2013

Official Release

February 7, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS – Indiana Pacers guard/forward Gerald Green was named Thursday as a participant in the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest as part of NBA All-Star 2013. The 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk will feature six dunkers competing in a two-round competition as part of State Farm All-Star Saturday Night. The new format will pit the Eastern Conference against the Western Conference in an exciting night of competition that will also raise money for charity. Gerald Green dunking

"It’s an honor to represent the Pacers and Indiana and it’s also great to be trying to win it not only again, but this time in my hometown of Houston,” said Green. “I think it’s exciting for the Pacers that this is another way to recognize our team and the year we’re having.”

Related: Green Jumping, Head Above Rim »

Related: Green Explodes to Rim, Rocks It »

Green, the 2007 Slam Dunk Contest winner, becomes the seventh Pacers player to participate in the Slam Dunk Contest at All-Star Weekend. Previous Pacers contestants include: Terrence Stansbury, Kenny Williams, Antonio Davis, Jonathan Bender, Paul George and 2004 Slam Dunk Contest Winner Fred Jones.

Along with Green, the Eastern Conference lineup will include the Toronto Raptors’ Terrence Ross and New York Knicks’ James White. The Western Conference will be represented by the 2012 Sprite Slam Dunk champion Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz along with the Los Angeles Clippers’ Eric Bledsoe and Denver Nuggets’ Kenneth Faried.

Related: Paul George in 3-Point Contest »

The 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk contest will consist of the three Eastern Conference players competing against the three from the Western Conference in a two-round competition. The highest scoring East competitor and the highest scoring West competitor will compete head-to-head to determine the champion. Fan voting will open at the beginning of the Championship Round and the player with the highest percentage of combined votes from all platforms will be champion.

This year fans will be able to cast votes for the champion in one of four ways:

  1. 1.) SMS Text Message* – Text the player’s last name to 38657 (DUNKS)
  2. 2.) Twitter - Tweet #SpriteSlam with the player’s last name
  3. 3.) Vote via the official NBA All-Star App (Available on iTunes, Google Play and at
  4. 4.) Log on to from any computer or mobile device.

Since 2008, fans have determined the winner of the Sprite Slam Dunk through SMS TXT and voting on