Pacers Announce Winners of Pacers MVP Scholarship presented by Herff Jones

Official Release

April 13, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Pacers announced Sunday the winner of the Pacers MVP Scholarship presented by Herff Jones, an award presented to an Indiana high school student who has made a difference as a leader in their community. For the award, the Pacers partnered with Herff Jones, a global giant for over 90 years in the distribution and manufacturing of educational recognition and achievement projects, located in Indianapolis.

This year’s Grand Prize winner is Trenton Wright of Avon High School. As the Grand Prize winner, he receives a $5,000 scholarship to the accredited college of his choice, courtesy of Herff Jones, along with a special gift from the Herff Jones collection. The $5,000 scholarship winner was chosen from the finalists by representatives of Herff Jones.

The judging criteria included academic excellence, community service and essay. Applicants must have met the following to be considered: 1) high school senior in one of the following Indiana counties - Marion, Boone, Hendricks, Morgan, Johnson, Shelby, Hancock, Madison or Hamilton; 2) candidates cannot be a member of their high school JV or varsity basketball teams; 3) own a minimum GPA of 2.5; 4) must have completed 40 hours of active community service with the past year; 5) must be involved in extracurricular activities; and 6) must submit a 250-word essay.

The top 10 finalists were Morgan Barnett, Ben Davis High School; Andrew Boyle, Mt. Vernon High School; Miranda Dafoe, Lebanon High School; Priya Dave, Center Grove High School; Morgan Dillon, Western Boone Jr./Sr. High School; Elyse Dynlacht, Lawrence Central High School; Michelle Majeski, Mooresville High School; Stephanie Schneck, Martinsville High School; Ikenna Stovall, Lawrence North High School and Trenton Wright, Avon High School.

Finalists and guests received four tickets to the Pacers game vs. Oklahoma City where they will be recognized during an on-court ceremony at halftime of the game. They will also receive a finalist plaque and commemorative photo.

Playoff Priority Presale Registration »
Register to earn an opportunity to purchase single-game tickets for the playoffs