Abrams Academic Achievement Award Winners
Abrams Academic Achievement Award Winners

Pacers, Abrams Academic Achievement Awards

Official Release

January 9, 2014

Students Honored at Pacers-Wizards Friday

INDIANAPOLIS – For the 13th consecutive season the Indiana Pacers have partnered with Pacers team ophthalmologist Dr. John Abrams to present the Abrams Academic Achievement Awards.

The program was initially established to recognize area elementary and/or middle school students for their academic and leadership performance in school. It has grown to the extent where now the Pacers and Dr. Abrams select seven area schools each year in which to partner for the program. This year nine students from eight schools will be honored.

This year’s partnering schools include: Clark-Pleasant Middle School; Decatur Middle School; HL Harshman Middle School; Highland Middle School; Irvington Community Middle School; Longfellow Magnet Middle School; the Lynhurst 7th and 8th Grade Center and Westlane Middle School.

The students will be recognized during a halftime, on-court ceremony during the Pacers vs. Washington game on Friday, Jan. 10, at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. In addition to receiving four tickets to the game, a Certificate of Achievement and a Pacers goodie bag, each winner will be presented with a laptop computer courtesy of Dr. Abrams.


Gino Cosentino – Clark-Pleasant Middle School (8th)
Tyrone Tracy – Decatur Middle School (8th)
Julia Wohlert – Decatur Middle School (8th)
Nicole Giroff – HL Harshman Middle School (8th)
Patrick Sawyer – Highland Middle School (8th)
Elizabeth Zike – Irvington Community Middle School (7th)
Zoe Wilkinson – Longfellow Magnet Middle School (8th)
Wyatt Long – Lynhurst 7th & 8th Grade Center (7th)
Kathryn Sperka – Westlane Middle School (7th)

Two for Tuesday presented by IMCU »
Buy one ticket, get one free for Tuesday home games