Abrams Acadamic Award Winners - Photo from Halftime of Pacers-Thunder game

Pacers, Abrams Academic Achievement Awards

April 5, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS – For the 12th consecutive season the Indiana Pacers have partnered with Pacers team ophthalmologist Dr. John Abrams to present the Abrams Academic Achievement Awards.

The program was initially established to recognize area elementary and/or middle school students for their academic and leadership performance in school. It has grown to the extent where now the Pacers and Dr. Abrams select five area schools each year in which to partner for the program. From each of these schools two sixth-grade students, one male and one female are chosen to receive the award.

This year’s partnering schools include: Eliza A. Blaker Elementary (IPS #55); Joyce Kilmer Elementary (IPS #69); Ernie Pyle Elementary (IPS #90); Daniel Webster Elementary (IPS #346) and McClelland Elementary.

The students were recognized during a halftime, on-court ceremony during the Pacers vs. Oklahoma City game on Friday, April 5, at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. In addition to receiving four tickets to the game and serving as an honorary ball kid, each winner was presented a Laptop Computer courtesy of Dr. Abrams, a Certificate of Achievement and a Pacers goodie bag.


  • IPS #55 – Jamyla McSwine & Tyrique Harris
  • IPS # 69 – Dayonna Howard & Jeffrey Martin, Jr.
  • IPS #90 – Bailey Richardson & Kendall Adams
  • IPS #346 – Alexis Knight & Fernando Lazo Girion
  • McClelland Elementary – Mariona Gilbert & Bryce Wharton

For more information, contact the Pacers’ Public Information Department at (317) 917-2500.