O'Neal Super Shootout Rosters Announced

by Eric Latzer

April 2, 2003

INDIANAPOLIS (April 2, 2003) -- Rosters for the April 12 Jermaine O'Neal Super Shootout 2003, featuring the premier boys and girls high school basketball players from Marion County, were announced Monday.

Representing the city boys team will be Arlington's Ryan Gold, Evan Freeman and Jeremy Gilbert; Dan Cage, Jamaal Wade and Mike Dury from Chatard; Cathedral's Phil Kealing; Cornelius Bambo and Joseph Haywood from Northwest; LaRon Henry and Kevin Richardson from Scecina; and Tyrone Anderson and Jamaal Little from Tech. Cathedral's Scott Hicks will be the head coach.

For the city girls team, Cathedral leads the way with three players, Kathleen Roesinger, Jennifer Peterson and Kaitlin Vogtner, as well has having the head coach, Linda Bamrick; Arlington is represented by Brandi Carter and Katina Smith and Chatard has Caitlin McGonigal and Melissa Popp. Also on the roster are Broad Ripple's Andrea Clayton, Heritage Christian's Megan Risinger, Nekisha Stevens of Northwest, Beth Hadley of Scecina and Anne Kingseed from Covenant Christian.

The county girls' roster includes: Adrienne Jones from Ben Davis; Carrie Smith from Brebeuf; Sharrie Rohde and Alissa Tielking from Franklin Central; Shannon Carlisle from Lawrence Central; Reicina Russell from Lawrence North; Laura Gaybrick from Perry Meridian; Miranda Green from Pike; Leisha Walker from North Central; Michelle Bova and Elizabeth Stevens from Southport; and Ze'Nai Savage from Warren Central. Pike's Amy Cherubini will be the head coach.

Pike tops the county boys' roster with four players, David Barlow, Justin Cage, Parnell Smith and Darren Yates, as well as the head coach, Larry Bullington. They are joined by Stanley Burrell of Ben Davis; Sonny Troutman of Brebeuf; Chaz Spicer from Lawrence North; Austin Montgomery and Justin Petty from Perry Meridian; Julien "Skip" Mills and Byron Malone from North Central; Luke Tudor from Warren Central and Jeff Manley from Roncalli.

Tickets for the event in Conseco Fieldhouse are priced at $5 for general admission seating. Tickets will go on sale at noon at the Conseco Fieldhouse Box Office, all Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at (317) 239-5151 or via the internet at www.ticketmaster.com. Group tickets are also available by calling the Indiana Pacers' office at (317) 917-2500.

The Jermaine O'Neal Super Shootout is being sponsored by Pacers Sports & Entertainment; NIKE; Finish Line; The Indianapolis Recorder; Sport Graphics; Pepsi; and Bob Block's Sports and Fitness. O'Neal, the Pacers' All-Star forward, is carrying on a tradition that was started in 1991 by The Recorder, the oldest African-American newspaper in the State of Indiana. The tournament features the best senior boys and girls basketball players in Marion County participating in 3-point shooting contests, all-star games and, for the boys, a slam dunk contest.

Activities on April 12 start at 1:30 p.m., with the boys' 3-point shooting contest. At 2:00 p.m., the girls' shootout will take place followed by the boys' slam dunk competition (4:30 p.m.), the girls' 3-point shooting contest (5:00 p.m.) and the boys' shootout at 5:30 pm.

Proceeds from the tournament will go to local charities. Currently, local not-for-profit organizations are being reviewed for consideration as beneficiaries of this year's tournament proceeds.

O'Neal will also host a parent-athlete banquet and be the featured speaker on April 10. It was also announced that the outstanding male and female player from each game would receive a $1,000 scholarship in honor of the late Shannon McPherson and John Stewart, two outstanding players who played in Marion County.

For more information, contact Pacers Sports & Entertainment at (317) 917-2500.