O’Neal, Artest, Foster, Jackson, Tinsley Highlight The NBA All-Star 2006 Ballot

by Darren Misener

November 17, 2005

HOUSTON, November 17, 2005 -- The NBA announced Thursday that Jermaine O’Neal, Ron Artest, Jeff Foster, Stephen Jackson and Jamaal Tinsley will represent the Indiana Pacers as All-Star Balloting begins today, giving fans worldwide the opportunity to vote for their favorite players as starters for the 55th NBA All-Star Game. The 2006 NBA All-Star Game, which will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries, will be held at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas on Sunday, Feb. 19.

Fans can vote for the Pacers starting with tonight’s game in Conseco Fieldhouse against Charlotte (7:00 p.m.). Balloting continues through Jan. 21. The theme for this year’s balloting is “Blastoff To Houston” with many special activities scheduled for Pacers’ fans who participate in voting, including postgame autograph sessions on selected dates, autographed items and All-Star t-shirts.

Fans have the opportunity to vote in NBA arenas, 19 languages on the NBA.com Network, approximately 130 Loews Cineplex Entertainment movie theaters in the United States, and through mobile phones at t-zones using T-Mobile service or wap.nba.com for any wireless carrier. This year’s All-Star balloting partners include T-Mobile USA, X-Box, NBA2K6 and AOL.

NBA All-Star 2006 is a week-long celebration that enables fans to experience the thrill of the world’s greatest athletes playing the game they love and features a full slate of community enhancing activities and fan festivals.

A total of 120 players – 60 each from the Eastern and Western Conferences – are listed on the NBA All-Star ballot, with 24 guards, 24 forwards and 12 centers from each conference comprising the ballot. Voters select two guards, two forwards and one center from each conference. The 120 players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media experts who regularly cover the NBA. This year’s panel included Steve Aschburner (Minneapolis Star Tribune/ President, Professional Basketball Writers’ Association), Ric Bucher (ESPN the Magazine), Ernie Johnson (Turner Sports), Mike Monroe (San Antonio Express News) and Sam Smith (Chicago Tribune).

The 2006 NBA All-Star Balloting program continues through Jan. 22, 2006 and updated results for the Eastern and Western Conferences will be issued regularly leading up to the unveiling of the All-Star starters Thursday Feb. 2 prior to a TNT doubleheader. Following the completion of fan voting and the starting line-up announcement, the head coaches in each conference will vote to determine the remaining All-Stars in their respective conference, which will be announced Thursday Feb. 9 on NBA TV when the Los Angeles Lakers face the Dallas Mavericks.

The following is a complete listing of the players as they appear on the ballot:


Gilbert Arenas, Washington
Chauncey Billups, Detroit
Vince Carter, New Jersey
Antonio Daniels, Washington
Ricky Davis, Boston
TJ Ford, Milwaukee
Steve Francis, Orlando
Ben Gordon, Chicago
Richard Hamilton, Detroit
Kirk Hinrich, Chicago
Larry Hughes, Cleveland
Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
Stephen Jackson, Indiana
Joe Johnson, Atlanta
Jason Kidd, New Jersey
Brevin Knight, Charlotte
Stephon Marbury, New York
Gary Payton, Miami
Morris Peterson, Toronto
Michael Redd, Milwaukee
Jalen Rose, Toronto
Josh Smith, Atlanta
Jamaal Tinsley, Indiana
Dwyane Wade, Miami


Ron Artest, Indiana
Chris Bosh, Toronto
Caron Butler, Washington
Tyson Chandler, Chicago
Luol Deng, Chicago
Drew Gooden, Cleveland
Al Harrington, Atlanta
Grant Hill, Orlando
Dwight Howard, Orlando
Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia
LeBron James, Cleveland
Antawn Jamison, Washington
Richard Jefferson, New Jersey
Antonio McDyess, Detroit
Emeka Okafor, Charlotte
Jermaine O'Neal, Indiana
Paul Pierce, Boston
Tayshaun Prince, Detroit
Quentin Richardson, New York
Bobby Simmons, Milwaukee
Joe Smith Milwaukee
Antoine Walker, Miami
Rasheed Wallace, Detroit
Chris Webber, Philadelphia


Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee
Primoz Brezec, Charlotte
Eddy Curry, New York
Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia
Jeff Foster, Indiana
Brendan Haywood, Washington
Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Cleveland
Jerome James, New York
Nenad Krstic, New Jersey
Raef LaFrentz, Boston
Shaquille O'Neal, Miami
Ben Wallace, Detroit



Ray Allen, Seattle
Mike Bibby, Sacramento
Earl Boykins, Denver
Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers
Sam Cassell, LA Clippers
Speedy Claxton, NO/OKC
Baron Davis, Golden State
Michael Finley, San Antonio
Manu Ginobili, San Antonio
Matt Harpring, Utah
Bobby Jackson, Memphis
Jim Jackson, Phoenix
Eddie Jones, Memphis
Andre Miller, Denver
Cuttino Mobley, LA Clippers
Steve Nash, Phoenix
Tony Parker, San Antonio
Jason Richardson, Golden State
Luke Ridnour, Seattle
Jerry Stackhouse, Dallas
Damon Stoudamire, Memphis
Sebastian Telfair, Portland
Jason Terry, Dallas
David Wesley, Houston


Shareef Abdur-Rahim, Sacramento
Carmelo Anthony, Denver
Carlos Boozer, Utah
Bruce Bowen, San Antonio
Elton Brand, LA Clippers
PJ Brown, NO/OKC
Tim Duncan, San Antonio
Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
Pau Gasol, Memphis
Robert Horry, San Antonio
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah
Rashard Lewis, Seattle
Corey Maggette, LA Clippers
Shawn Marion, Phoenix
Kenyon Martin, Denver
Tracy McGrady, Houston
Mike Miller, Memphis
Troy Murphy, Golden State
Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
Lamar Odom, LA Lakers
Zach Randolph, Portland
Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
Amare Stoudemire, Phoenix
Wally Szczerbiak, Minnesota


Marcus Camby, Denver
Erick Dampier, Dallas
Chris Kaman, LA Clippers
*Jamaal Magloire, NO/OKC
Chris Mihm, LA Lakers
Brad Miller, Sacramento
Mehmet Okur, Utah
Michael Olowokandi, Minnesota
Joel Przybilla, Portland
Kurt Thomas, Phoenix
Lorenzen Wright, Memphis
Yao Ming, Houston