Artest Among First-Time All-Stars

by Jeff Tzucker

NBA News Release

New York, February 3, 2004

New Jersey Nets guard Jason Kidd, a seven-time NBA All-Star, and Shaquille O’Neal of the Los Angeles Lakers, selected to his 11th All-Star Game, headline today’s announcement of the reserves for the 2004 NBA All-Star Game, to be played on Sunday, February 15 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

The 14 players selected—seven each from the Eastern and Western Conferences—were chosen by a vote of the 29 NBA head coaches. The coaches were asked to vote for seven players in their respective conferences – two guards, two forwards, one center and two players regardless of position. They were not permitted to vote for players from their own team.


Joining Kidd on the East team will be Boston’s Paul Pierce and New Orleans’ Baron Davis and first-time All-Stars Ron Artest of Indiana, Michael Redd of Milwaukee, Kenyon Martin New Jersey and Jamaal Magloire of New Orleans.

First-timers Sam Cassell of Minnesota and Andrei Kirilenko of Utah join O’Neal, Dallas’ Dirk Nowitzki, Peja Stojakovic and Brad Miller of Sacramento and Seattle’s Ray Allen on the West squad.


Previously selected, as starters for the East through the NBA All-Star 2004 Balloting Program were Detroit’s Ben Wallace, Indiana’s Jermaine O’Neal, Orlando’s Tracy McGrady, Philadelphia’s Allen Iverson and Toronto’s Vince Carter. Houston’s Steve Francis and Yao Ming, Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, Minnesota’s Kevin Garnett and San Antonio’s Tim Duncan will start for the West.

The selections of Kirilenko (Russia), Magloire (Canada), Nowitzki (Germany) and Stojakovic (Serbia-Montenegro) along with voted-starters Duncan (U.S. Virgin Islands) and Yao (China), gives the 2004 All-Star Game six international players, tying the 2003 All-Star Game record for the most international All-Stars in one year.

Should any player be unable to participate in the All-Star Game due to injury, NBA Commissioner David Stern will select the replacement.


Rick Carlisle of the Indiana Pacers will coach the Eastern Conference All-Stars and Flip Saunders of the Minnesota Timberwolves will represent the Western Conference.

The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, February 15 will be broadcast live by TNT, Rogers Sportsnet and ESPN Radio at 8 p.m. ET. The game will also be telecast in 212 countries and broadcast in several languages on

For the second year in a row, NBA All-Stars will wear uniforms created just for the game. Last year, NBA All-Stars wore “Retro” uniforms from the 1988 All-Star Game, but this year the All-Stars will be outfitted in newly-designed uniforms from Reebok – created specifically for the 2004 NBA All-Star Game.