65th Annual High School Luncheon

March 25, 2011
On Thursday, March 24, and for the first time ever, Conseco Fieldhouse hosted the 65th annual Boys High School Basketball State Finals Luncheon presented by the Kiwanis Club of Indianapolis. The eight schools playing for the state championship were honored in front of over 700 on the Main Court in Conseco Fieldhouse. Chris Denari, the Pacers Television Announcer, Pacers TV voice and a fellow Indiana high school hoops standout, was the guest speaker.

One of the highlights of the event was the presentation of the Indiana Pacers Academic All Star awards. Each recipient receives a $1,000 college scholarship funded by the Kiwanis and the Pacers. Also, a $1,500 Jim Mills Memorial Scholarship was presented on behalf of the late Jim Mills, a long time Kiwanis member.

Shown above are the award winners along with members of Kiwanis and the Pacers: Trent Cowles, President of the Kiwanis Club of Indianapolis; Quinn Buckner, Vice President of Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Michael Davidson (Decatur Central); Ian Carroll (Speedway); Henry Will (Cathedral); John Byers (Covenant Christian); Kyle James (Franklin Central), Mills Scholarship winner; and Bobby Cox, IHSAA Commissioner.