NEW YORK, April 29 -- Bobby Jackson of the Sacramento Kings has been named the winner of the 2002-03 NBA Sixth Man Award, honoring the league's top player in a reserve role, the NBA announced Tuesday.

The first member of the Sacramento Kings to win the NBA Sixth Man Award and only the second point guard to be so honored (the other was Darrell Armstrong in 1999), Jackson appeared in 59 games this season, starting 26 in place of the injured Mike Bibby. This season, the 6-foot-1 guard posted a career-best scoring average of 15.2 points per game (20.2 ppg as a starter).

Bobby Jackson grabbed the 2003 NBA Sixth Man Award.
Kent Horner/NBAE/Getty Images
Jackson received 362 points, including 52 of a possible 118 first-place votes, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Michael Redd of the Milwaukee Bucks finished second with 257 points and the Utah Jazz's Andrei Kirilenko finished third with 127 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

Despite missing 20 games due to an injured left hand, Jackson still led the Kings in scoring seven times, in assists six times and in rebounding three times. He turned in a career-best performance versus the Los Angeles Clippers on Nov. 29 when he tallied 31 points, eight rebounds, five assists and two steals.

In his sixth NBA season and third with the Kings, Jackson helped Sacramento to its fifth consecutive winning campaign. This year's 59 wins are the second most in franchise history behind last year's total of 61. As the second seed in the West for the 2003 NBA Playoffs, the Kings are making their fifth straight playoff appearance.

A native of Salisbury, N.C., Jackson was a first round selection by Seattle in the 1997 NBA Draft (23rd overall). He was signed by Sacramento as a free agent on Aug. 1, 2000.

Attached are the voting results for this year's NBA Sixth Man Award and the all-time list of winners:


Player, Team 1st  2nd  3rd  Pts
Bobby Jackson, Sacramento  52 29 15 362
Michael Redd, Milwaukee 33 25 17 257
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah 10 18 23 127
Nick Van Exel, Dallas 8 20 15 115
Corliss Williamson, Detroit 5 14 20 87
Malik Rose, San Antonio 6 5 12 57
Earl Boykins, Golden State 4 4 10 42
Al Harrington, Indiana 0 2 1 7
Jon Barry, Detroit 0 1 1 4
Toni Kukoc, Milwaukee 0 1 0 3
Lucious Harris, New Jersey 0 0 1 1
Keon Clark, Sacramento 0 0 1 1
Joe Johnson, Phoenix 0 0 1 1


1982-83: Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85: Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86: Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88: Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89: Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90: Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92: Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93: Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94: Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95: Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96: Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97: John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98: Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99: Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-2000: Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01: Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02: Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03: Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings