SAN ANTONIO, April 21 - David Robinson of the San Antonio Spurs is the 2003 recipient of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship award presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association.

The Kennedy Citizenship award is the oldest citizenship and community service award in the NBA and is named for the second commissioner of the NBA.

The award honors an NBA player or coach for outstanding community service and commitment to serve and give of his time outside the arena.

David Robinson has been an important member of the San Antonio community for more than 15 years.
Kent Horner
NBAE/Getty Images
David Robinson already has donated $9 million of his own money to create the independent Carver Academy, serving primarily low-income African-American and Hispanic families in San Antonio. Robinson also leads fundraising efforts for the school and is chairman of Carver. Named for George Washington Carver, the school opened on September 17, 2001 with 60 pre-kindergarten through second grade children. The Carver Academy added a third grade class in 2002. Once fully operational, the school will accommodate up to 290 students through eighth grade. Stanford Achievement Test show the students from

The Carver Academy scored above the national mean for 2001-2002. The average national score was 50 compared to the Carver's total of 70. Robinson also teams with the Spurs Foundation to provide 50 Spurs season tickets for Mister Robinson's Neighborhood of Achievers, a program in its 13th year that recognizes children for their accomplishments in the classroom and community. Robinson also is a regular in visits with Make-A-Wish children and participates in the NBA Read to Achieve program.

Robinson has established a charitable foundation in his name, which supports a number of local activities, including providing food to organizations feeding the hungry and diapers and baby food for needy infants and toddlers through area agencies, and has funded college scholarships for numerous San Antonio students.

"The PBWA is proud to present David Robinson the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship award for 2003," said Sam Smith, president of the PBWA. "David is one of the most deserving winners we've ever had. He may be the best combination of citizen and athlete in the history of American professional sports. His feats on the basketball court undoubtedly will earn him inclusion in the Basketball Hall of Fame. His contributions off the basketball court may be even more significant and impressive. He is the ideal in what we seek in a professional athlete."

Previous winners of the award include Julius Erving, Joe Dumars, Bob Lanier, Dave Bing, Joe Dumars, Alex English, Steve Smith, Dikembe Mutombo, Brian Grant and Alonzo Mourning.

The PBWA represents writers for newspapers, magazines and internet services who cover the NBA on a regular basis. Members nominate players for the award. A vote is then taken by the membership of approximately 150. The five nominees this season were Robinson, Adonal Foyle of the Golden State Warriors, Reggie Miller of the Indiana Pacers, Walter McCarty of the Boston Celtics and Jerry Stackhouse of the Washington Wizards.