NEW YORK, May 26 – Ray Allen of the Seattle SuperSonics led all players in votes to earn his fourth consecutive First Team appearance on the NBA All-Interview team when the NBA Public Relations Directors Association (NBAPRDA) announced the 2003-04 All-Interview teams today.

Allen (30 votes) is joined on the NBA All-Interview First Team by first-time selections Jermaine O’Neal of the Indiana Pacers (22 votes) and Elton Brand of the Los Angeles Clippers (19 votes). Rounding out the First Team are Steve Nash of the Dallas Mavericks (17 votes) with his third selection and Seattle’s Brent Barry (16 votes) with his second selection. The NBA All-Interview First Team coach is 2003-04 NBA Coach of the Year, Memphis’ Hubie Brown (23 votes).

Los Angeles Lakers forward Karl Malone (11 votes) makes his 17th consecutive appearance on the All-Interview Team earning Second Team honors. Joining Malone on the Second Team are teammates Rick Fox (10 votes) with his second selection and Shaquille O’Neal (10 votes) with his third selection. Joining the three Lakers on the Second Team are Minnesota’s Sam Cassell (13 points) and Milwaukee’s Michael Redd (11 votes), both making their first appearance on the NBA All-Interview Team. The NBA All-Interview Second Team’s coach is Minnesota’s Flip Saunders, who earned his first All-Interview Team selection with eight votes.

A total of 69 players and 20 coaches were named on at least one of the 62 ballots cast. The voting panel consisted of members of the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA). They were asked to vote for a coach and five players, without regard to position, based on their accessibility and ability to provide informative and interesting quotes.

Attached are the voting results for the 2003-04 NBA All-Interview Team:


Player, Team Votes
Ray Allen, Seattle 30
Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana 22
Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers 19
Steve Nash, Dallas 17
Brent Barry, Seattle 16
COACH: Hubie Brown, Memphis 23


Player, Team Votes
Sam Cassell, Minnesota 13
Karl Malone, L.A. Lakers 11
Michael Redd, Milwaukee 11
Rick Fox, L.A. Lakers 10
Shaquille O’Neal, L.A. Lakers 10
COACH: Flip Saunders, Minnesota 8

Other players receiving votes: Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers, 9; Kevin Garnett, Minnesota, 9; P.J. Brown, New Orleans, 7; Yao Ming, Houston, 7; Chris Webber, Sacramento, 7; Tracy McGrady, Orlando, 6; Damon Stoudamire, Portland, 6; Shane Battier, Memphis, 5; Jalen Rose, Toronto, 5; Eric Williams, Cleveland, 5; Carlos Boozer, Cleveland, 4; Vlade Divac, Sacramento, 4; LeBron James, Cleveland, 4; Antawn Jamison, Dallas, 4; Jason Kidd, New Jersey, 4; Carmelo Anthony, Denver, 3; Gilbert Arenas, Washington, 3; Chauncey Billups, Detroit, 3; Richard Jefferson, New Jersey, 3; Brad Miller, Sacramento, 3; Ben Wallace, Detroit, 3; Rafer Alston, Miami, 2; Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia, 2; Antonio Davis, Chicago, 2; Penny Hardaway, New York, 2; Steve Francis, Houston, 2; Manu Ginobili, San Antonio, 2; Gary Payton, L.A. Lakers, 2; Maurice Taylor, Houston, 2; Nick Van Exel, Golden State, 2; Shandon Anderson, New York, 1; Darrell Armstrong, New Orleans, 1; Ron Artest, Indiana, 1; Jon Barry, Denver, 1; Raja Bell, Utah, 1; Vince Carter, Toronto, 1; Ricky Davis, Boston, 1; Baron Davis, New Orleans, 1; Adonal Foyle, Golden State, 1; Allan Houston, New York, 1; Juwan Howard, Orlando, 1; Bobby Jackson, Sacramento, 1; Stephen Jackson, Atlanta, 1; Damon Jones, Milwaukee, 1; Eddie Jones, Miami, 1; Andrei Kirilenko, Utah, 1; Jamaal Magloire, New Orleans, 1; Corey Maggette, L.A. Clippers, 1; Avery Johnson, Golden State, 1; Jamal Mashburn, New Orleans, 1; Aaron McKie, Philadelphia, 1; Reggie Miller, Indiana, 1; Dikembe Mutombo, New York, 1; Scottie Pippen, Chicago, 1; Latrell Sprewell, Minnesota, 1; Eric Snow, Philadelphia, 1; Jerry Stackhouse, Washington, 1; Tim Thomas, New York, 1; Rasheed Wallace, Detroit, 1.

Other coaches receiving votes: Larry Brown, Detroit, 5; Paul Silas, Cleveland, 4; Jerry Sloan, Utah, 2; Jeff Van Gundy, Houston, 2; Rick Adelman, Sacramento, 2; Jeff Bzdelik, Denver, 2; Gregg Popovich, San Antonio, 2; Kevin O’Neill, Toronto, 2; Nate McMillan, Seattle, 1; John Carroll, Boston, 1; Eric Musselman, Golden State, 1; Don Nelson, Dallas, 1; Maurice Cheeks, Portland, 1; Phil Jackson, L.A. Lakers, 1; Terry Porter, Milwaukee, 1; Stan Van Gundy, Miami, 1; Scott Skiles, Chicago, 1; Rick Carlisle, Indiana, 1.