NEW YORK, May 9 – Eighteen-year NBA veteran Karl Malone was named to his 16th consecutive NBA All-Interview team when the NBA Public Relations Directors Association (NBAPRDA) announced the 2002-03 All-Interview teams today.

Malone (22 votes) is joined on the NBA All-Interview First Team by Seattle’s Ray Allen, who led all players with 38 votes to earn his third consecutive First Team selection, nine-time NBA All-Star Shaquille O’Neal (26 votes) from the Los Angeles Lakers makes his second appearance and teammate Rick Fox (24 votes) his first, while Sacramento’s Chris Webber (20 votes) earns his second selection. The NBA All-Interview First Team coach is Orlando’s Doc Rivers who received the most votes (41) of any nominee as he earned his fourth consecutive All-Interview selection as a coach and his 14th overall.

All-Interview video from Reebok All-Access:
Play Video
Rookie Yao Ming was named to the All-Interview second team.
Gary Dineen/NBAE/Getty Images
Minnesota’s Kevin Garnett (19 votes) makes his fourth consecutive appearance on the NBA All-Interview team earning Second Team honors. Joining Garnett on the Second Team are Orlando’s Tracy McGrady (19 votes) with his first selection, Los Angeles Clippers’ Elton Brand (18 votes) makes his second appearance, Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant (17 votes) his second and the 2002 NBA Draft Top Overall Selection Yao Ming (16 votes) of the Houston Rockets. The NBA All-Interview Second Team’s coach is Milwaukee’s George Karl, who earned his 11th All-Interview team selection with 14 votes.

A total of 91 players and 18 coaches were named on at least one of the 113 ballots cast. The voting panel consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada who regularly cover the NBA. They were asked to vote for a coach and five players, without regard to position, based on their accessibility and ability to provide informative and interesting quotes.


Player, TeamVotes
Ray Allen, Seattle 38
Shaquille O’Neal, LA Lakers 26
Rick Fox, LA Lakers 24
Karl Malone, Utah 22
Chris Webber, Sacramento20
Coach: Doc Rivers, Orlando35


Player, TeamVotes
Kevin Garnett, Minnesota19
Tracy McGrady, Orlando19
Elton Brand, LA Clippers18
Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers17
Yao Ming, Houston16
Coach: George Karl, Milwaukee14

Other players receiving votes: Michael Jordan, Washington, 15; Jalen Rose, Chicago, 15; Avery Johnson, Dallas, 14; Steve Kerr, San Antonio, 14; Charles Oakley, Washington, 14; Brent Barry, Seattle, 13; Vlade Divac, Sacramento, 12; Steve Nash, Dallas, 11; David Robinson, San Antonio, 11; Sam Cassell, Milwaukee, 10; Jamal Mashburn, New Orleans, 8; Jerry Stackhouse, Washington, 8; Steve Francis, Houston, 7; P.J. Brown, New Orleans, 6; Anfernee Hardaway, Phoenix, 6; Richard Jefferson, New Jersey, 6; Shane Battier, Memphis, 5; Allen Iverson, Philadelphia, 5; Jason Kidd, New Jersey, 5; Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana, 5; Gary Payton, Milwaukee, 5; Jon Barry, Detroit, 4; Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 4; Adonal Foyle, Golden State, 4; Stephon Marbury, Phoenix, 4; Malik Rose, San Antonio, 4; Latrell Sprewell, New York, 4; Maurice Taylor, Houston, 4; Gilbert Arenas, Golden State, 3; Darrell Armstrong, Orlando, 3; Ron Artest, Indiana, 3; LaPhonso Ellis, Miami, 3; Reggie Miller, Indiana, 3; Clifford Robinson, Detroit, 3; Eric Snow, Philadelphia, 3; Wally Szczerbiak, Minnesota, 3; Shareef Abdur-Rahim, Atlanta, 2; Derek Anderson, Portland, 2; Doug Christie, Sacramento, 2; Antonio Davis, Toronto, 2; Kendall Gill, Minnesota, 2; Bobby Jackson, Sacramento, 2; Mark Jackson, Utah, 2; Todd MacCulloch, Philadelphia, 2; Aaron McKie, Philadelphia, 2; Cuttino Mobley, Houston, 2; Kevin Ollie, Seattle, 2; Scottie Pippen, Portland, 2; Michael Redd, Milwaukee, 2; Jason Terry, Atlanta, 2; Nick Van Exel, Dallas, 2; Scott Williams, Phoenix, 2; Kenny Anderson, New Orleans, 1; Bruce Bowen, San Antonio, 1; Derrick Coleman, Philadelphia, 1; Jason Collins, New Jersey, 1; Michael Curry, Detroit, 1; Michael Doleac, New York, 1; Derek Fisher, LA Lakers, 1; Grant Hill, Orlando, 1; Fred Hoiberg, Chicago, 1; Allan Houston, New York, 1; Antawn Jamison, Golden State, 1; Ervin Johnson, Milwaukee, 1; Mark Madsen, LA Lakers, 1; Desmond Mason, Milwaukee, 1; Troy Murphy, Golden State, 1; Dikembe Mutombo, New Jersey, 1; Edjuardo Najera, Dallas, 1; Charles “Bo” Outlaw, Phoenix, 1; Scott Padgett, Utah, 1; Paul Pierce, Boston, 1; Mo Peterson, Toronto, 1; Brian Scalabrine, New Jersey, 1; Brian Shaw, LA Lakers, 1; Joe Smith, Minnesota, 1; Steve Smith, San Antonio, 1; John Stockton, Utah, 1; Kurt Thomas, New York, 1; Antoine Walker, Boston, 1; Ben Wallace, Detroit, 1.

Other coaches receiving votes: Hubie Brown, Memphis, 7; Larry Brown, Philadelphia, 7; Isiah Thomas, Indiana, 5; Rudy Tomjanovich, Houston, 5; Jerry Sloan, Utah, 4; Doug Collins, Washington, 3; Nate McMillan, Seattle, 3; Don Nelson, Dallas, 3; Byron Scott, New Jersey, 3; Phil Jackson, LA Lakers, 2; Flip Saunders, Minnesota, 2; Paul Silas, New Orleans, 2; Rick Adelman, Sacramento, 1; Rick Carlisle, Detroit, 1; Eric Musselman, Golden State, 1; Gregg Popovich, San Antonio, 1.