NEW YORK, May 7 -- The Detroit Pistons’ Rick Carlisle was named the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the IBM NBA Coach of the Year for the 2001-02 season, the NBA announced Tuesday.

Carlisle received 73 votes from the 126-member voting panel consisting of 39 national media members and three media members who regularly cover each of the NBA’s 29 teams.

Carlisle Press Conference: 56k | 300k

Carlisle poses with the Red Auerbach Trophy and former Pistons coach Chuck Daly.
Allen Einstein
NBAE/Getty Images
Rick Adelman of the Sacramento Kings and the New Jersey Nets’ Byron Scott finished second and third with 21 and 15 votes, respectively. Ten coaches received at least one vote for this season’s IBM NBA Coach of the Year Award.

Carlisle became the sixth person to win the Red Auerbach Trophy in his first season as a head coach, joining St. Louis’ Harry Gallatin in 1962-63, Chicago’s Johnny “Red” Kerr in 1966-67, Portland’s Mike Schuler in 1986-87, Indiana’s Larry Bird in 1997-98 and Orlando’s Glenn “Doc” Rivers in 1999-2000.

Under Carlisle’s guidance, the Pistons finished the season with an 18-game improvement over last season en route to 50 wins and Detroit’s first Central Division title since the 1989-90 season. The Pistons’ 18-game turnaround this season tied Washington for the second-best improvement in the league.

Carlisle joins Ray Scott, who earned the honor for the 1973-74 season, as the only coaches in Pistons’ history to win the award. Carlisle captured the IBM Coach of the Month award for February after leading the Pistons to a 9-3 record in that month. He was the first Detroit head coach to receive that honor since Doug Collins was named the NBA’s Coach of the Month in February 1997.

As an assistant coach in the NBA for 11 seasons, Carlisle’s teams (New Jersey, Portland and Indiana) amassed a 455-415 (.523) record since 1989. Those teams made eight trips to the playoffs, including the 1999-2000 Indiana Pacers who reached the NBA Finals.

As the "Official Information Technology Partner of the NBA," IBM creates technical solutions for the NBA. The IBM Advanced Scout ("data mining") Program for the IBM Think Pad aids NBA coaches in their scouting, team analysis and game preparation, while the IBM Coach of the Month and IBM Coach of the Year awards recognize their achievements.

Following are the balloting results for the 2001-02 IBM NBA Coach of the Year award and the all-time list of winners:


Coach, Team, Votes
Rick Carlisle, Detroit 73
Rick Adelman, Sacramento 21
Byron Scott, New Jersey 15
Nate McMillan, Seattle 7
Maurice Cheeks, Portland 4
Jim O’Brien, Boston 2
Doug Collins, Washington 1
Alvin Gentry, L.A. Clippers 1
Don Nelson, Dallas 1
Isiah Thomas, Indiana 1


Season, Coach, Team
1962-63 Harry Gallatin, St. Louis*
1963-64 Alex Hannum, San Francisco
1964-65 Red Auerbach, Boston
1965-66 Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia
1966-67 Johnny Kerr, Chicago*
1967-68 Richie Guerin, St. Louis
1968-69 Gene Shue, Baltimore
1969-70 Red Holzman, New York
1970-71 Dick Motta, Chicago
1971-72 Bill Sharman, Los Angeles
1972-73 Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1973-74 Ray Scott, Detroit
1974-75 Phil Johnson, KC-Omaha
1975-76 Bill Fitch, Cleveland
1976-77 Tom Nissalke, Houston
1977-78 Hubie Brown, Atlanta
1978-79 Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City
1979-80 Bill Fitch, Boston
1980-81 Jack McKinney, Indiana
1981-82 Gene Shue, Washington
Season Coach, Team
1982-83 Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1985-86 Mike Fratello, Atlanta
1986-87 Mike Schuler, Portland*
1987-88 Doug Moe, Denver
1988-89 Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix
1989-90 Pat Riley, L.A. Lakers
1990-91 Don Chaney, Houston
1991-92 Don Nelson, Golden State
1992-93 Pat Riley, New York
1993-94 Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta
1994-95 Del Harris, L.A. Lakers
1995-96 Phil Jackson, Chicago
1996-97 Pat Riley, Miami
1997-98 Larry Bird, Indiana*
1998-99 Mike Dunleavy, Portland
1999-00 Glenn “Doc” Rivers, Orlando*
2000-01 Larry Brown, Philadelphia
2001-02 Rick Carlisle, Detroit*
* -- First-Year Head Coach