Brooklyn Nets Starting Five Featured on All-Star Ballot

November 15, 2013 4:31 pm EST | @brooklynnets

BROOKLYN—The NBA announced today that the Brooklyn Nets starting five – guards Deron Williams and Joe Johnson and frontcourt players Brook Lopez, Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce – were named to the 2014 NBA All-Star Ballot. NBA All-Star Balloting tipped off today during a special event in New Orleans, the official host city of NBA All-Star 2014.

Williams was selected to the All-Star team in three consecutive seasons (2010-12). He led the Eastern Conference reserves with 20 points in the 2012 All-Star Game after participating as a reserve for the West in 2010 and 2011. Williams also competed in the 2010 Skills Challenge during All-Star Weekend and won the competition in 2008. This season, Williams is averaging 11.1 points and a team-leading 7.4 assists, good for seventh-best in the NBA.

Johnson was selected as a member of the Eastern Conference All-Star team in six consecutive seasons (2007-12), including starting for the East in 2010. This year, Johnson is averaging 12.7 points, 2.4 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game.

Lopez earned his first selection to the Eastern Conference All-Star team last season. This season, the sixth-year pro is averaging a team-leading 19.6 points, 6.4 rebounds and 2.7 blocks per contest, good for third-best in the NBA.

Garnett is a 15-time All-Star (1997-98, 2000-11, 2013), tied for the second-most All-Star appearances in NBA history with Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal (trailing only Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s 19 All-Star selections). He was selected to 14 consecutive All-Star teams from 1997-2011 (no game in 1999), is an 11-time All-Star starter (eight times for the Western Conference and three times for the Eastern Conference) and was recognized as the game’s MVP in 2003. This season, he is averaging 6.0 points and a team-leading 6.9 rebounds per game.

Pierce was selected to the All-Star team 10 times (2002-06, 2008-12), tied for the fifth-most selections among active players. Pierce scored his personal All-Star-high 19 points in his first All-Star game in 2002. This season, Pierce is averaging 13.4 points, 6.6 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game.

For the second year in a row, NBA fans can vote via social media networks, including Facebook and Twitter, and Sina Weibo and Tencent Microblog in China. Twitter voting allows fans to tweet a vote for 10 unique players each day throughout the All-Star balloting period. The tweet must include the player’s first and last name, along with hash tag #NBABallot. Facebook voting allows fans to comment on official league, team, or international NBA All-Star Facebook pages by commenting below the post with #NBABallot and the player’s first and last name. Voters can select 10 unique players per day.

NBA fans can also access the ballot and vote through the NBA Game Time and NBA Game Time from Sprint applications, available on Android and iOS. Fans can fill out one full ballot per day, through the NBA Game Time and NBA Game Time from Sprint application, the most comprehensive app in the marketplace for NBA fans.

There are several other ways fans can cast their votes as part of this season’s all-digital program including: in 11 languages on, through SMS voting by texting the player's last name to 6-9-6-2-2 ("MYNBA") or by visiting on any wireless device. Fans can vote for 10 different players per day, per phone number, via SMS voting by sending 10 separate SMS messages, each one with a different player's last name. Message and data rates may apply. Voters can fill out one full ballot per day on from a desktop or mobile browser.

After submitting their All-Star selections, fans will have the ability to share those picks with their friends on Facebook and followers on Twitter, and encourage others to cast ballots.

Balloting concludes on Monday, Jan. 20, and starters will be announced live on TNT on Thursday, Jan. 23, during a special one-hour edition of TNT NBA Tip-Off presented by at 7 p.m. ET, featuring Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal and Kenny Smith. The NBA All-Star ballot features 120 players – 60 each from the Eastern and Western conferences – with 36 frontcourt players and 24 backcourt players from each conference comprising the list. Voters select three frontcourt players and two backcourt players from each conference.

The 120 players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media who regularly cover the NBA: Greg Anthony (NBA Digital), Mary Schmitt Boyer (Cleveland Plain Dealer/PBWA), Zach Lowe (Grantland), and John Reid (New Orleans Times Picayune).

The 63rd NBA All-Star Game will be exclusively televised on TNT from New Orleans Arena on Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014. The All-Star Game, also broadcast live on ESPN Radio, will collectively reach fans in 215 countries and territories in more than 40 languages. NBA All-Star 2014 in New Orleans will bring together some of the most talented and passionate players in the league’s history for a global celebration of the game. TNT will televise the All-Star Game for the 12th consecutive year, marking Turner Sports' 30th year of All-Star coverage. State Farm All-Star Saturday Night will feature Sears Shooting Stars, Taco Bell Skills Challenge, Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, and Sprite Slam Dunk. Other events at NBA All-Star 2014 will include the BBVA Compass Rising Stars Challenge, Sprint NBA All-Star Celebrity Game, and NBA All-Star Jam Session. The 2014 game will mark the second NBA All-Star celebration in New Orleans. The city also hosted the event in 2008.

Nets Central

  • Pin It