Phoenix forward is top rookie for 2002-03
Stoudemire Named got milk? Rookie of the Year

NEW YORK, April 24 -- Amaré Stoudemire of the Phoenix Suns won the 2002-03 got milk? Rookie of the Year Award, the NBA announced Thursday.

Stoudemire highlights: Play
News conference: Video | Audio

Stoudemire recieved 458 points, including 59 first-place votes.
Noah Graham/NBAE/Getty Images

Stoudemire received 458 points -- including 59 of a possible 117 first-place votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada -- to earn the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the league’s top rookie. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received. Houston’s Yao Ming finished second with 405 points and Miami’s Caron Butler was third with 179 points.

Stoudemire played in all 82 games for the Suns, starting in 71 on his way to averaging 13.5 points (tied for second among rookies) and 8.8 rebounds (first for all rookies and second on the Suns) per contest. The 6-foot-10, 245-pound forward posted 25 double-double performances (points-rebounds) this season, which ranked 18th overall in the league. His many highlight games included a season-high 38-point, 14-rebound performance versus the Minnesota Timberwolves on December 30, 2002.

The ninth overall pick in the 2002 NBA Draft and a graduate of Cypress Creek High School in Orlando, Stoudemire was twice honored with the got milk? Rookie of the Month Award for the Western Conference this season (January and April). Stoudemire is the first Suns player to earn the rookie monthly honor twice in one season and is only the third Suns player to be honored as a Rookie of the Month since the award’s inception.

Stoudemire is the third member of the Phoenix Suns to win got milk? Rookie of the Year honors since the franchise’s entrance into the NBA before the 1968-69 season. Alvan Adams (1975-76) and Walter Davis (1977-78) are the team’s previous honorees.

Stoudemire was presented his award today by Suns Chairman and CEO Jerry Colangelo. He will be officially be presented with the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy before Friday night’s Game 3 of the Suns-Spurs first round playoff series by NBA Deputy Commissioner Russ Granik and Mike Krueger, Milk Processors Education Program Board Member, presenting on behalf of America’s Milk Processors Education Program.

The Eddie Gottlieb Trophy is named in honor of Eddie Gottlieb, one of the NBA’s founders who coached the Philadelphia Warriors to the NBA championship in 1946-47.

The got milk? Milk Mustache campaign is sponsoring the NBA Rookie platform to highlight the importance of milk's bone-building calcium and eight other essential nutrients for active people, teens especially, who add about 15 percent of their height during these years. The platform includes the got milk? Rookie Challenge, the got milk? Rookie of the Month awards, the got milk? Rookie of the Year award and the got milk? All-Rookie Team.

Following are the voting results for this year’s got milk? NBA Rookie of the Year Award and the all-time list of winners:


Amare Stoudemire, Phoenix59534458
Yao Ming, Houston455418405
Caron Butler, Miami13987179
Emanuel Ginobili, SanAntonio0125
Drew Gooden, Orlando0033
Nene Hilario, Denver0022
Carlos Boozer, Cleveland0011


1952-53Don Meineke, Fort Wayne1977-78Walter Davis, Phoenix
1953-54Ray Felix, Baltimore1978-79Phil Ford, Kansas City
1954-55Bob Pettit, Milwaukee1979-80Larry Bird, Boston
1955-56Maurice Stokes, Rochester1980-81Darrell Griffith, Utah
1956-57Tom Heinsohn, Boston1981-82Buck Williams, New Jersey
1957-58Woody Sauldsberry, Phila.1982-83Terry Cummings, San Diego
1958-59Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis1983-84Ralph Sampson, Houston
1959-60Wilt Chamberlain, Phila.1984-85Michael Jordan, Chicago
1960-61Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati1985-86Patrick Ewing, New York
1961-62Walt Bellamy, Chicago1986-87Chuck Person, Indiana
1962-63Terry Dischinger, Chicago1987-88Mark Jackson, New York
1963-64Jerry Lucas, Cincinnati1988-89Mitch Richmond, Golden St.
1964-65Willis Reed, New York1989-90David Robinson, San Antonio
1965-66Rick Barry, San Francisco1990-91Derrick Coleman, New Jersey
1966-67Dave Bing, Detroit1991-92Larry Johnson, Charlotte
1967-68Earl Monroe, Baltimore1992-93Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando
1968-69Wes Unseld, Baltimore1993-94Chris Webber, Golden State
1969-70Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milw.1994-95(tie) Grant Hill, Detroit
Jason Kidd, Dallas
1970-71(tie) Dave Cowens, Boston
Geoff Petrie, Portland
1995-96Damon Stoudamire, Toronto
1971-72Sidney Wicks, Portland1996-97Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
1972-73Bob McAdoo, Buffalo1997-98Tim Duncan, San Antonio
1973-74Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo1998-99Vince Carter, Toronto
1974-75Jamaal Wilkes, Golden St.1999-00(tie) Elton Brand, Chicago
Steve Francis, Houston
1975-76Alvan Adams, Phoenix2000-01Mike Miller, Orlando
1976-77Adrian Dantley, Buffalo2001-02Pau Gasol, Memphis
2002-03Amare Stoudemire, Phoenix

Copyright NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Updated Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use.
Advertise on | Career Opportunities | Help