Okafor Wins got milk?
Rookie of the Year

NEW YORK, May 4 – Emeka Okafor of the Charlotte Bobcats will receive the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the 2004-05 got milk? Rookie of the Year, the NBA announced today.

Emeka Okafor Shows off his Eddie Gottlieb Trophy.
Kent Smith/NBAE/Getty Images
Emeka Okafor: 2004-05 photos
Okafor received a total of 514 points, including 77 first-place votes out of a possible 126, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received. Chicago’s Ben Gordon finished a close second with 443 points, while Orlando’s Dwight Howard finished third with 161 points.

Okafor, the second overall pick in the 2004 NBA Draft, led all rookies in scoring (15.1 ppg), rebounds (10.9 rpg) and minutes played (35.6 mpg), and ranked second in blocks (1.71 bpg). Okafor ranked fourth in the league in rebounding and third in offensive rebounding (3.8 rpg) while leading the Bobcats in scoring, rebounding, blocks and minutes this season.

Okafor, a three-time recipient of the got milk? Rookie of the Month award (November, December and April), ranked fourth in the NBA and first among rookies with 47 double-doubles (points-rebounds) and was only one of eight players in the league to average a double-double. He posted 19 consecutive double-doubles from November 21 to January 1, the longest streak by any NBA player this season. The last rookie to have more consecutive double-doubles than Okafor was 12-time NBA All-Star Elvin Hayes, who registered 60 straight during the 1968-69 season.

"Emeka is a role model on the court and also a role model with the nutritional choices that he makes every day,” said Kurt Graetzer, CEO, Milk Processors Education Program. “That's why we are proud to name him the got milk? Rookie of the Year."

The got milk? Milk Mustache campaign is sponsoring the NBA Rookie platform to highlight the importance of milk's bone-building calcium and eight other essential nutrients for active people, teens especially, who add about 15 percent of their height during these years. The platform includes the ‘got milk?’ Rookie Challenge, the ‘got milk?’ Rookie of the Month awards, the ‘got milk?’ Rookie of the Year award and the ‘got milk?’ All-Rookie Team.

The Eddie Gottlieb Trophy is named in honor of Eddie Gottlieb, one of the NBA’s founders who coached the Philadelphia Warriors to the NBA championship in 1946-47.

Following are the voting results for this year’s got milk? Rookie of the Year Award and the all-time list of winners:

Player, Team1st2nd3rdPts
Emeka Okafor, Charlotte77409514
Ben Gordon, Chicago43739443
Dwight Howard, Orlando61198161
Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia02814
Luol Deng, Chicago0011
J.R. Smith, New Orleans0011


1952-53: Don Meineke, Fort Wayne
1953-54: Ray Felix, Baltimore
1954-55: Bob Pettit, Milwaukee
1955-56: Maurice Stokes, Rochester
1956-57: Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1957-58: Woody Sauldsberry, Philadelphia
1958-59: Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis
1959-60: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1960-61: Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati
1961-62: Walt Bellamy, Chicago
1962-63: Terry Dischinger, Chicago
1963-64: Jerry Lucas, Cincinnati
1964-65: Willis Reed, New York
1965-66: Rick Barry, San Francisco
1966-67: Dave Bing, Detroit
1967-68: Earl Monroe, Baltimore
1968-69: Wes Unseld, Baltimore
1969-70: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1970-71: Dave Cowens, Boston (tie)
Geoff Petrie, Portland (tie)
1971-72: Sidney Wicks, Portland
1972-73: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo
1973-74: Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo
1974-75: Keith Wilkes, Golden State
1975-76: Alvan Adams, Phoenix
1976-77: Adrian Dantley, Buffalo
1977-78: Walter Davis, Phoenix
1978-79: Phil Ford, Kansas City
1979-80: Larry Bird, Boston
1980-81: Darrell Griffith, Utah
1981-82: Buck Williams, New Jersey
1982-83: Terry Cummings, San Diego
1983-84: Ralph Sampson, Houston
1984-85: Michael Jordan, Chicago
1985-86: Patrick Ewing, New York
1986-87: Chuck Person, Indiana
1987-88: Mark Jackson, New York
1988-89: Mitch Richmond, Golden State
1989-90: David Robinson, San Antonio
1990-91: Derrick Coleman, New Jersey
1991-92: Larry Johnson, Charlotte
1992-93: Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando
1993-94: Chris Webber, Golden State
1994-95: Grant Hill, Detroit (tie)
Jason Kidd, Dallas (tie)
1995-96: Damon Stoudamire, Toronto
1996-97: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
1997-98: Tim Duncan, San Antonio
1998-99: Vince Carter, Toronto
1999-2000: Elton Brand, Chicago (tie)
Steve Francis, Houston (tie)
2000-01: Mike Miller, Orlando
2001-02: Pau Gasol, Memphis
2002-03: Amare Stoudemire, Phoenix
2003-04: LeBron James, Cleveland
2004-05: Emeka Okafor, Charlotte

Copyright NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of NBA.com may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the NBA.com Updated Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use.
Advertise on NBA.com | Career Opportunities | Help