Utah Jazz Announce Grand Prize Winner of the CenturyLink All-Star Teacher Award

CenturyLink and Jazz Donate $5,000 to Two Rivers High School in Ogden

SALT LAKE CITY (April 10, 2014) – The Utah Jazz and CenturyLink , Inc. (NYSE: CTL) today announced Two Rivers High School teacher Ray Franklin of Ogden as the grand prize winner of the 2013-14 CenturyLink All-Star Teacher Award program. The program recognizes and rewards outstanding Utah K-12 educators and underscores CenturyLink and the Utah Jazz’s shared commitment to education and community outreach.

Franklin was selected for the grand prize from among this season’s five monthly winners, and will be awarded a $5,000 cash prize for Two Rivers High School’s general fund, a pep rally for the school featuring Jazz Bear and the America First Jazz Dancers, and a catered suite for 12 at the Jazz game on April 11.

Two Rivers High School Principal Jeff Marchant and Jackie Lalor, market development manager for CenturyLink, will award the $5,000 prize to Franklin during an on-court presentation at halftime of the Jazz home game vs. Portland on April 11.

“We are an alternative high school that serves a population of students who are at risk of dropping out,” said Marchant. “Our students have been through many challenges in their short lives. Mr. Franklin is amazing at helping them not just succeed academically, but at helping these youth realize the events and choices that have led them to this point in their lives, and how they can change the path they are on and achieve future success.”

Franklin has dedicated his life to assisting his students both inside and outside of the classroom. As a direct result of his commitment and positive attitude, Franklin has helped several struggling students get back on the right track and graduate from high school. He works tirelessly to instill a love of learning in all of his students while emphasizing the importance of education.

CenturyLink’s All-Star Teacher Award program was open to the entire state, and any individual 13 years or older was encouraged to nominate a teacher by writing and submitting an essay detailing why their nominee deserved to win.