Mar 7 2013 11:28AM

Hot 16

Isaac Baldizon/NBAE/Getty Images

Miami has won 16 straight games, becoming the 23rd team in NBA history to do so.

And with three more home contests coming up in the next week, the Heat have a good opportunity to grow that streak.

It's the first time Miami's Big 3--LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh--has ever won so many games in a row, but it's not the first time some of their teammates have gone streakin', with Shane Battier winning 22 straight with Luis Scola and the 2007-08 Houston Rockets; Ray Allen winning 19 straight with Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, Kendrick Perkins, Rajon Rondo and the 2008-09 Boston Celtics; James Jones winning 17 straight with the 2006-07 Phoenix Suns.

That Suns team--led by Steve Nash, Boris Diaw, Shawn Marion and Amare Stoudemire--got off to a 3-6 start in the 2006-07 season before going on a 15-win streak, losing two of their next three, before embarking on that 17-win run. Shows you what patience through adversity can bring. I wonder if Mike D'Antoni ever brought that story up with this season's Lakers.

That said, the Suns aren't the only former squad of current NBA players to enjoy multiple long winning streaks.

You've got the San Antonio Spurs who, you'll recall, ran off 20 straight victories last season, in a span that stretched 10 games into the 2012 NBA Playoffs. The Spurs--led by Tony Parker, Tim Duncan and Manu Ginobili eight years earlier--had a similar streak in the 2003-04 season when The O.G. Big 3 won 17 straight.

And then you've got the Batman & Robin combo of Kobe Bryant and Derek Fisher, who had three 16-plus win streaks with the Los Angeles Lakers--back when Phil Jackson was their Alfred--winning 19 straight in the 2000-01 season, along with two long streaks in the 1999-2000 season of 16 and 19 victories.

The last two teams of current NBA players with long streaks both hit 17 straight: the 2006-07 Dallas Mavericks, led by Dirk Nowitzki and Jason Terry; this season's Los Angeles Clippers, who won 17 consecutive from November 28 through December 30, 2012.