Jun 24 2015 7:33PM

2015 Draft Preview


Jennifer Pottheiser/NBAE/Getty Images

By combining subjective scouting with statistical analysis and age comparisons, we created our exclusive NBAge Draft Rankings to serve as a preview for the past five NBA Drafts here at HOOPmag.com.

When you go back and check our track record in these past 2011-thru-2014 NBA Drafts, we've done pretty well for ourselves, if we do say so, ourselves.

NBAge has outperformed NBA general managers in the lottery portion of the draft (32-15-9) as well as the first round (61-43-16) when you compare actual picks to our recommendations, and let win shares determine who made the right pick and who made the wrong.

The 4-Year Plus-Minus and NBA Lifer Percentages are tied together in our statistical-based formula that projects a player's estimated Real Plus-Minus score for the next four years, along with the percentage chance that he will play 20,000-plus career minutes in the NBA.

These numbers are derived from their collegiate (and overseas) statistics, such as Box Plus-Minus, Player Efficiency Rating, Win Shares Per 48 Minutes, team's Simple Rating System score, team's Strength of Schedule and player age.

How will we fare in 2015?

We'll all know a year from now, but it all depends on two things: 1. how the real GMs play their hand Thursday in the 2015 NBA Draft; 2. how the prospects play the game once the 2015-16 NBA season begins.

Before Thursday's draft begins however, just know that we'll be pushing all of our chips all in on Towns, Okafor, Booker and Russell.

We've counted the deck, by golly, and one or two of those four cards are bound to come up aces in the future.

NBAge Draft Rankings 2015


Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

1. Karl-Anthony Towns
College: Kentucky
Projected Position: Center
Height: 7-0
Weight: 250
Birthdate: 11/15.95
4-Year Plus-Minus: +5.07
NBA Lifer Pct.: 91

Towns will probably develop into a good all-around NBA center along the lines of fellow Kentucky grads Anthony Davis and DeMarcus Cousins, with the ability to defend along the lines of those two Wildcats and even another Cat named Nerlens Noel. Towns, who has no weakness in his game, shares the upside that all three Kentucky alums also share. He's that good. Shoot, Towns even shot eight three-point attempts as a freshman (making two), setting the foundation one day perhaps to become an NBA stretch center.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

2. Jahlil Okafor
College: Duke
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
6-11
Weight: 270
Birthdate:
12.15.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+0.46
NBA Lifer Pct.:
45

He is no Tim Duncan on defense, but he has the offensive moves to remind oneself of The Big Fundamental. One day, Okafor will probably replace Al Jefferson as the league's top post-up threat, and judging from his game's maturity, he may become the premier postman before his 21st birthday.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

3. Devin Booker
College: Kentucky
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-6
Weight: 205
Birthdate:
10.30.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+1.04
NBA Lifer Pct.:
50

Booker is a complete shooting guard—one who hearkens images of Klay Thompson from recent days, or even Ray Allen in days of yore. Booker is the youngest player in the draft and has a good work ethic, which bodes well for his upside in years to come. There is not a better shooter in the draft—both from three-point range and long twos—than this 18 year old who turns 19 once the 2015-16 NBA season begins.


Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

4. D'Angelo Russell
College: Ohio St.
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-5
Weight: 180
Birthdate:
2.23.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+0.65
NBA Lifer Pct.:
46

This lefty is the most versatile guard in the draft, with point guard skills to make an NBA team better, complemented with scoring ability to get his own shot off accurately in a variety of ways (isolation, pick-and-roll, handoff screen, transition, catch-and-shoot, catch-and-drive). Probably has the highest basketball IQ of any teen in the draft.


Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

5. Frank Kaminsky
College: Wisconsin
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
7-1
Weight: 242
Birthdate:
4.4.93
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+2.06
NBA Lifer Pct.:
61

If Okafor is the offensive heir to The Big Fundamental in the paint, Kaminsky is his new rival, with an offensive game that also stretches out to three-point range, perhaps making him more valuable to certain 21st-Century NBA teams. Could shoot spot-up 3s all day with anyone in the draft, even guards Booker, Russell and Michael Frazier. Probably the most NBA-ready player in the draft, due to his maturity and age (just turned 22).


Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

6. Delon Wright
College: Utah
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-6
Weight: 190
Birthdate:
4.26.92
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+1.86
NBA Lifer Pct.:
59

Elite defender. Crafty point guard. Solid shooter—still improving on three-point range. Can make all the difficult NBA passes already. Ranks atop draft with Kaminsky in basketball IQ. Single-handedly turned Utah into a winner in two-year span, culminating in Sweet 16 finish in 2015. Will excel in NBA, either in role as starter or as first guard off the bench.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

7. Willie Cauley-Stein
College: Kentucky
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
7-1
Weight: 240
Birthdate:
8.18.93
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.03
NBA Lifer Pct.:
40

Elite defender who can guard both the pick-and-roll and also handle most players in isolation basketball as well. Runs the floor in transition with the best of anyone. Ideal finisher in lob-city passes in the paint. Has nice little jumper too, although that is not why you are drafting him. Defense, defense, defense.


Bob Leverone/Getty Images

8. Justise Winslow
College: Duke
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-7
Weight: 230
Birthdate:
3.26.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.50
NBA Lifer Pct.:
35

This lefty loves to attack the basket, and has the strength to drag wings at will to the rim. He also is a good spot-up shooter, with good footwork and good defense as his calling card, making the Duke product a good bet to find playing time wherever he ends up.


Sam Forencich/NBAE/Getty Images

9. Emmanuel Mudiay
Team: Guangdong (China)
Projected Position: Point Guard
Height:
6-5
Weight: 200
Birthdate:
3.5.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.78
NBA Lifer Pct.:
12

Has everything you want in a modern physically-gifted point guard. Can attack the rim and rebound in the paint like few teenage PGs can. Was more than able to hold his own as a rookie in the China Basketball Association in limited action—he injured his ankle in November. Upon a healthy return late in the postseason, Mudiay played two games for Guangdong against Stephon Marbury's eventual-champion Beijing team in CBA Playoffs semifinals, with the Southern Tigers winning Game 3 before being eliminated in Game 4 in overtime.


Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE/Getty Images

10. Kristaps Porzingis
Country: Latvia
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
7-0
Weight: 220
Birthdate:
8.2.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.11
NBA Lifer Pct.:
39

Tough to find another seven-footer who runs the court and shoots the three as well as Porzingis. Fundamentally sound on the post-up game too. He is guaranteed to light up your offense, not only by pushing the pace in the transition game against plodding centers, but also by draining threes in halfcourt sets. Not a bad rim protector either, for a stretch 4, but he does lack the rebounding skills to make him an inside force.


Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

11. Stanley Johnson
College: Arizona
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-7
Weight: 245
Birthdate:
5.29.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
+0.23
NBA Lifer Pct.:
42

His strength is his greatest asset—giving him the ability to finish near the basket, come up with loose ball and play a physical brand of D that should be his calling card in the NBA. He is young, so it will take time for the undersized power forward—or powerful small forward—to find his niche on the court. But time is on his side. By NBA Year 3, he could become a 30-minutes-per-game player.


Grant Halverson/Getty Images

12. Justin Anderson
College: Virginia
Projected Position:
Small Forward
Height:
6-6
Weight: 200
Birthdate:
11.19.93
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-1.05
NBA Lifer Pct.:
30

Love everything about this lefty's 3-and-D game, but especially that this long (6-11 wingspan) super-athlete worked on his three-point shooting and improved from 29 to 45 percent.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

13. Tyus Jones
College: Duke
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-2
Weight: 184
Birthdate:
5.10.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.50
NBA Lifer Pct.:
35

Every NBA team can use a heady point guard to back up the first-string crew.


Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

14. Myles Turner
College: Texas
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
7-0
Weight: 243
Birthdate:
3.24.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.78
NBA Lifer Pct.:
32

Has everything you want in a modern-day center: rim protection, defensive rebounder, floor-spacing shooting ability.


Pool/Getty Images

15. Trey Lyles
College: Kentucky
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-10
Weight: 235
Birthdate:
11.5.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-1.00
NBA Lifer Pct.:
30

Can do everything you expect a power forward to do at the next level. Knocks down the midrange jumper.


Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

16. Rondae Hollis-Jefferson
College: Arizona
Projected Position:
Small Forward
Height:
6-7
Weight: 220
Birthdate:
1.3.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.77
NBA Lifer Pct.:
32*

Too bad this lefty cannot make threes because Hollis-Jefferson is one of the top perimeter defenders, who also possesses the ability to hustle and muscle with the bigs.


Elsa/Getty Images

17. Montrezl Harrell
College: Louisville
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-8
Weight: 240
Birthdate:
1.26.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-1.86
NBA Lifer Pct.:
21*

Super-strong athlete, with a good motor, who already is a good NBA defender.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

18. Sam Dekker
College: Wisconsin
Projected Position:
Small Forward
Height:
6-9
Weight: 230
Birthdate:
5.8.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.17
NBA Lifer Pct.:
18

The young man doesn't take bad shots, which could make him a supersub off the bench at either forward slot.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

19. Bobby Portis
College: Arkansas
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-11
Weight: 242
Birthdate:
2.10.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.52
NBA Lifer Pct.:
15

Has a motor, versatility and all-around game that other power forwards and centers in this draft simply do not have.


Ethan Miller/Getty Images

20. Kevon Looney
College: UCLA
Projected Position:
Small Forward
Height:
6-9
Weight: 220
Birthdate:
2.6.96
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.66
NBA Lifer Pct.:
13

It may take some time, but Looney may be a find with his well-rounded still-developing all-around game.


Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

21. Dakari Johnson
College: Kentucky
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
7-0
Weight: 265
Birthdate:
9.22.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-0.36
NBA Lifer Pct.:
36

Johnson does everything well as a backup NBA center, but he is especially good at defense and offensive rebounding.


Sam Forencich/NBAE/Getty Images

22. Mouhammadou Jaiteh
Country: France
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
6-11
Weight: 245
Birthdate:
11.27.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-1.61
NBA Lifer Pct.:
24

Has a quickness that few his size possess, which could make him a terror on NBA boards.


Robert Serra/Getty Images

23. Guilermo Hernangomez
Country: Spain
Projected Position:
Center
Height:
6-11
Weight: 255
Birthdate:
5.27.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-1.46
NBA Lifer Pct.:
25

Big-bodied Spaniard, who establishes good low-post position on offense, and moves feet well enough on defense for pick-and-roll D.


Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE/Getty Images

24. Cameron Payne
College: Murray St.
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-2
Weight: 185
Birthdate:
8.8.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.24
NBA Lifer Pct.:
18

Creative point guard who already knows the NBA game, excelling in pick-and-roll sets and also getting his offense into transition basketball.


Sean Gardner/Getty Images

25. R.J. Hunter
College: Georgia St.
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-6
Weight: 185
Birthdate:
10.24.93
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-4.07
NBA Lifer Pct.:
0*

Has the type of fluid game—good shooter, passer, defender, smart—who would fit in well with Spurs', Warriors', Hawks' motion offenses.


Jamie Squire/Getty Images

26. Kelly Oubre
College: Kansas
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-7
Weight: 200
Birthdate:
12.9.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.31
NBA Lifer Pct.:
17

Still developing the athleticism that could make him a good all-around player.


27. Mario Hezonja
Country: Croatia
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-8
Weight: 200
Birthdate:
2.25.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-5.47
NBA Lifer Pct.:
0

Some scouts view Hezonja as a high lottery pick because of his ability to create offense at such a young age at the ACB level (39 percent on threes), but there are a lot of holes in his game when it comes to team basketball.


Joe Robbins/Getty Images

28. Cliff Alexander
College: Kansas
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-9
Weight: 250
Birthdate:
11.16.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.38
NBA Lifer Pct.:
16

Has the raw strength that could make him a force coming off somebody's bench once he learns NBA game.


Elsa/Getty Images

29. Terry Rozier
College: Louisville
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-2
Weight: 190
Birthdate:
3.17.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-4.08
NBA Lifer Pct.:
0

The young man comes from a winning program and he has all the point-guard foundations down that should make for a smooth transition as second- or third-string NBA point guard.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

30. Jerian Grant
College: Notre Dame
Projected Position:
Point Guard
Height:
6-4
Weight: 205
Birthdate:
10.9.92
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.25
NBA Lifer Pct.:
18*

Should be able to step on somebody's roster as a solid second- or third-string point guard with the size to even play the 2 spot once in awhile.


Ethan Miller/Getty Images

31. Christian Wood
College: UNLV
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-11
Weight: 220
Birthdate:
9.27.95
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-4.30
NBA Lifer Pct.:
0

His length makes for a good shotblocker, rebounder and lane-filler in transition.


Gregpry Shamus/Getty Images

32. Richaun Holmes
College: Bowling Green
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-10
Weight: 245
Birthdate:
10.15.93
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-3.16
NBA Lifer Pct.:
8

Late bloomer who has a nose for the ball defensively and likes to attack the rim offensively.


Rob Foldy/Getty Images

33. Michael Frazier
College: Florida
Projected Position:
Shooting Guard
Height:
6-4
Weight: 195
Birthdate:
3.8.94
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-2.40
NBA Lifer Pct.:
16*

Small for his position, but he is a knockdown three-point shooter that could fit on most NBA rosters.


Ed Zurga/Getty Images

34. Jonathan Holmes
College: Texas
Projected Position:
Power Forward
Height:
6-9
Weight: 240
Birthdate:
12.9.92
4-Year Plus-Minus:
-3.66
NBA Lifer Pct.:
3*

His work ethic and developing offensive and defensive games should be enough to get Holmes on an NBA roster.

Birth Class Prospect Rankings

1996 1995 1994 1993 1992


Devin Booker
D'Angelo Russell
NCAA
GLOBAL
Justise Winslow
Emmanuel Mudiay
Stanley Johnson
NCAA
Tyus Jones
Myles Turner


Karl Towns
Jahlil Okafor
Andrew Wiggins
Jabari Parker
Aaron Gordon
Dante Exum
Kristaps Porzingis
Noah Yonleh
Trey Lyles
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson


Nerlens Noel
Giannis Antetokounmpo
Elfrid Payton
Marcus Smart
Jusuf Nurkic
Julius Randle
Joel Embiid
Jordan Adams
Jarnell Stokes
Clint Capela


Anthony Davis
Andre Drummond
Bradley Beal
Frank Kaminsky
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist
Willie Cauley-Stein
Otto Porter
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope
Steven Adams
Justin Anderson


Kyrie Irving
Cody Zeller
Rudy Gobert
Jared Sullinger
Harrison Barnes
Delon Wright
Victor Oladipo
Meyers Leonard
Jonas Valanciunas
Rodney Hood


Note: We do not list the names of young prospects still in college or teen-agers playing overseas. They are denoted in the rankings by the terms NCAA and GLOBAL.
Active NBA players in boldface type.

The NBAge vs. NBA GMs Scorecard
Our annual NBAge Draft Rankings have a four-year track record of beating NBA general managers when you compare our recommendations versus the teams' actual picks, when using win shares as the barometer.

NBAge has outscored NBA GMs' lottery picks, 32-15 times (68 percent), with 9 ties.

NBAge has also outscored NBA GMs' first-round picks, 61-43 times (59 percent), with 16 ties.

To give you a better idea of precisely how NBAge outperformed the NBA GM's actual picks, read below and compare the year-by-year, pick-by-pick selections with our recommendations from the links to our 2011 through 2014 NBAge rankings. Again, the scorecard in our head-to-head "NBAge vs. NBA GMs" contest is determined by career win shares.

NBA Draft 2011
Out On A Limb: Kawhi Leonard (we ranked him 3rd; he was taken 15th)

NBAge Record: Our record for first-round picks was 16-9-5; our record for lottery picks was 12-0-2.

NBAge Recommendations: Based on our 2011 NBAge Draft Rankings, our recommendation for pick 1 was Kyrie Irving (26.4 career win shares), resulting in a 0-0-1 record. Our recommendation for pick 2 was Derrick Williams (9.5), resulting in a 0-0-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 3-thru-15 was Kawhi Leonard (28.1), resulting in a 12-0-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 16-thru-19 was Tobias Harris (12.2), resulting in a 2-1-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 20-thru-26 was Jordan Hamilton (2.8), resulting in a 2-4-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 27-thru-30 was Tyler Honeycutt (-0.1), resulting in a 0-4 record. Our recommendation for picks 31-thru-35 was Honeycutt (again, -0.1). Our recommendation for picks 36-thru-49 was Josh Selby (-0.7). Our recommendation for picks 50-thru-60 was Jereme Richmond (0.0).

TeamDraft Pick (Win Shares)
1. CavaliersKyrie Irving (26.4)
2. T-WolvesDerrick Williams (9.5)
3. JazzEnes Kanter (12.7)
4. CavaliersTristan Thompson (18.9)
5. RaptorsJonas Valanciunas (18.9)
6. WizardsJan Vesely (4.0)
7. Hornets*Bismack Biyombo (9.2)
8. PistonsBrandon Knight (9.6)
9. HornetsKemba Walker (14.7)
10. Kings*Jimmer Fredette (2.4)
11. WarriorsKlay Thompson (21.5)
12. JazzAlec Burks (7.4)
13. SunsMarkieff Morris (14.2)
14. RocketsMarcus Morris (9.8)
15. Spurs*Kawhi Leonard (28.1)
16. 76ersNikola Vucevic (18.9)
17. KnicksIman Shumpert (7.9)
18. WizardsChris Singleton (2.3)
19. Bucks*Tobias Harris (12.2)
20. Rockets*Donatas Motiejunas (6.7)
21. BlazersNolan Smith (-0.8)
22. NuggetsKenneth Faried (24.6)
23. Timberwolves*Nikola Mirotic (5.7)
24. ThunderReggie Jackson (12.5)
25. Nets*MarShon Brooks (2.5)
26. Nuggets*Jordan Hamilton (2.8)
27. Celtics*JaJuan Johnson (0.2)
28. Heat*Norris Cole (3.2)
29. SpursCory Joseph (8.3)
30. BullsJimmy Butler (26.4)

NBA Draft 2012
Out On A Limb: Jared Sullinger (we ranked him 3rd; he was taken 21st)

NBAge Record: Our record for first-round picks was 13-13-4; our record for lottery picks was 8-4-2.

NBAge Recommendations: Based on our 2012 NBAge Draft Rankings, our recommendations for pick 1 was Anthony Davis (30.5 career win shares), resulting in a 0-0-1 record. Our recommendation for pick 2 was Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (9.0), resulting in a 0-0-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 3-thru-21 was Jared Sullinger (10.6), resulting in a 12-6-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 22-thru-29 was Marquis Teague (-0.8), resulting in a 0-7-1 record. Our recommendation for pick 30 was Draymond Green (13.6), resulting in a 1-0 record. Our recommendation for picks 31-thru-35 was Green (again, 13.6). Our recommendation for picks 36-thru-38 was Quincy Miller (-0.1). Our recommendation for picks 39 and 40 was Will Barton (1.4). Our recommendation for pick 41 was Tyshawn Taylor (-0.9). Our recommendation for picks 42-thru-60 was nobody.

TeamDraft Pick (Win Shares)
1. PelicansAnthony Davis (30.5)
2. HornetsMichael Kidd-Gilchrist (9.0)
3. WizardsBradley Beal (10.7)
4. CavaliersDion Waiters (3.7)
5. KingsThomas Robinson (3.1)
6. BlazersDamian Lillard (26.0)
7. WarriorsHarrison Barnes (10.7)
8. RaptorsTerrence Ross (7.5)
9. PistonsAndre Drummond (22.0)
10. PelicansAustin Rivers (1.0)
11. BlazersMeyers Leonard (5.9)
12. RocketsJeremy Lamb (5.1)
13. SunsKendall Marshall (1.5)
14. BucksJohn Henson (8.7)
15. 76ersMaurice Harkless (5.5)
16. RocketsRoyce White (0.0)
17. Cavaliers*Tyler Zeller (11.1)
18. RocketsTerrence Jones (11.0)
19. Magic Andrew Nicholson (2.4)
20. NuggetsEvan Fournier (4.4)
21. CelticsJared Sullinger (10.6)
22. Celtics Fab Melo (0.0)
23. HawksJohn Jenkins (2.5)
24. Mavericks*Jared Cunningham (0.1)
25. GrizzliesTony Wroten (-0.5)
26. PacersMiles Plumlee (6.5)
27. 76ers*Arnett Moultrie (1.7)
28. ThunderPerry Jones (1.7)
29. BullsMarquis Teague (-0.8)
30. WarriorsFestus Ezeli (3.2)

NBA Draft 2013
Out On A Limb: Nerlens Noel (we ranked him 1st; he was taken 6th)

NBAge Record: Our record for first-round picks was 17-10-3; our record for lottery picks was 8-3-3.

NBAge Recommendations: Based on our 2013 NBAge Draft Rankings, our recommendations for picks 1-thru-6 was Nerlens Noel (4.0 career win shares), resulting in a 3-2-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 7-thru-9 was Trey Burke (3.3), resulting in a 0-1-2 record. Our recommendation for picks 10-thru-12 was Steven Adams (7.0), resulting in a 3-0 record. Our recommendation for picks 13-thru-15 was Giannis Antetokounmpo (7.4), resulting in a 3-0 record. Our recommendation for picks 16-thru-30 was Mike Muscala (2.1), resulting in an 8-7 record. Our recommendation for picks 31-thru-44 was Muscala (again, 2.1). Our recommendation for picks 45-thru-60 was nobody.

TeamDraft Pick (Win Shares)
TeamDraft Pick (Win Shares)
1. CavaliersAnthony Bennett (-0.1)
2. MagicVictor Oladipo (4.8)
3. WizardsOtto Porter (2.7)
4. HornetsCody Zeller (6.5)
5. SunsAlex Len (3.6)
6. 76ers*Nerlens Noel (4.0)
7. KingsBen McLemore (3.3)
8. PistonsKentavious Caldwell-Pope (4.8)
9. Jazz*Trey Burke (3.3)
10. BlazersC.J. McCollum (2.0)
11. 76ersMichael Carter-Williams (2.1)
12. ThunderSteven Adams (12.0)
13. CelticsKelly Olynyk (6.5)
14. Timberwolves*Shabazz Muhammad (2.3)
15. BucksGiannis Antetokounmpo (7.4)
16. Hawks*Lucas Nogueira (0.0)
17. HawksDennis Schroder (1.8)
18. Mavericks*Shane Larkin (1.6)
19. CavaliersSergey Karasev (0.6)
20. BullsTony Snell (4.0)
21. Timberwolves*Gorgui Dieng (7.1)
22. NetsMason Plumlee (9.4)
23. PacersSolomon Hill (3.9)
24. KnicksTim Hardaway Jr. (3.9)
25. ClippersReggie Bullock (0.3)
26. Thunder*Andre Roberson (2.9)
27. Jazz*Rudy Gobert (9.7)
28. SpursLivio Jean-Charles (0.0)
29. Suns*Archie Goodwin (0.4)
30. Warriors*Nemanja Nedovic (-0.4)

NBA Draft 2014
Out On A Limb: Doug McDermott (we ranked him 1st; he was taken 11th)

NBAge Record: Our record for first-round picks was 15-11-4; our record for lottery picks was 4-8-2.

NBAge Recommendations: Based on our 2014 NBAge Draft Rankings, our recommendations for picks 1-thru-11 were for McDermott, who has 0.0 career win shares, resulting in a 2-7-2 start in the 2014 head-to-head battle. Our recommendation for picks 12-thru-22 was Jordan Adams (0.4), resulting in a 7-3-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 23-thru-30 was Jarnell Stokes (0.5), resulting in a 6-1-1 record. Our recommendation for picks 31-thru-35 was Stokes. Our recommendation for picks 36-thru-60 was Patric Young.

TeamDraft Pick (Win Shares)
1. CavaliersAndrew Wiggins (2.1)
2. BucksJabari Parker (1.3)
3. 76ersJoel Embiid (0.0)
4. MagicAaron Gordon (1.0)
6. CelticsMarcus Smart (2.9)
7. LakersJulius Randle (-0.1)
8. KingsNik Stauskas (0.5)
9. HornetsNoah Vonleh (0.5)
10. Magic*Elfrid Payton (2.3)
11. Bulls*Doug McDermott (0.0)
12. 76ers*Dario Saric (0.0)
13. TimberwolvesZach LaVine (-0.7)
14. SunsT.J. Warren (1.1)
15. HawksAdreian Payne (-0.5)
16. Nuggets*Jusuf Nurkic (1.6)
17. CelticsJames Young (0.3)
18. SunsTyler Ennis (-0.3)
19. Nuggets*Gary Harris (-0.7)
20. Raptors Bruno Caboclo (-0.1)
21. ThunderMitch McGary (1.3)
22. GrizzliesJordan Adams (0.4)
23. JazzRodney Hood (2.2)
24. Heat*Shabazz Napier (0.5)
25. RocketsClint Capela (0.0)
26. Hornets*P.J. Hairston (0.3)
27. SunsBogdan Bogdanovic (0.0)
28. ClippersC.J. Wilcox (0.0)
29. ThunderJosh Huestis (0.0)
30. SpursKyle Anderson (0.3)

* denotes team traded pick on draft night