Skip to main content

Main content


All-Time NBA Draft History

The first NBA Draft was in 1947

POSTED: Jun 17, 2015 10:09 AM ET


LeBron James was the No. 1 pick in the 2003 Draft.

NBA Draft History
All-Time No. 1 Draft Picks
All-Time NBA Lottery Selections, By Year
All-Time NBA Lottery Selections, By Pick Numbers
All-Time Rookies of The Year: What Pick They Were Drafted
All-Time Draft Lottery facts & history

All-Time Draft Selections, By Year

Click on the years below for a complete list of every player taken in the draft.

Year Team No. 1 overall pick School/Country
2015 Minnesota Timberwolves Karl-Anthony Towns Kentucky
2014 Cleveland Cavaliers Andrew Wiggins Kansas
2013 Cleveland Cavaliers Anthony Bennett UNLV
2012 New Orleans Hornets Anthony Davis Kentucky
2011 Cleveland Cavaliers Kyrie Irving Duke
2010 Washington Wizards John Wall Kentucky
2009 Los Angeles Clippers Blake Griffin Oklahoma
2008 Chicago Bulls Derrick Rose Memphis
2007 Portland Trail Blazers Greg Oden Ohio State
2006 Toronto Raptors Andrea Bargnani Italy
2005 Milwaukee Bucks Andrew Bogut Utah
2004 Orlando Magic Dwight Howard SW Atlanta Christian Academy
2003 Cleveland Cavaliers LeBron James St. Vincent-St. Mary HS (OH)
2002 Houston Rockets Yao Ming China
2001 Washington Wizards Kwame Brown Glynn Academy (GA)
2000 New Jersey Nets Kenyon Martin Cincinnati
1999 Chicago Bulls Elton Brand Duke
1998 Los Angeles Clippers Michael Olowokandi Pacific
1997 San Antonio Spurs Tim Duncan Wake Forest
1996 Philadelphia 76ers Allen Iverson Georgetown
1995 Golden State Warriors Joe Smith Maryland
1994 Milwaukee Bucks Glenn Robinson Purdue
1993 Orlando Magic Chris Webber Michigan
1992 Orlando Magic Shaquille O'Neal Louisiana State
1991 Charlotte Hornets Larry Johnson UNLV
1990 New Jersey Nets Derrick Coleman Syracuse
1989 Sacramento Kings Pervis Ellison Louisville
1988 Los Angeles Clippers Danny Manning Kansas
1987 San Antonio Spurs David Robinson Navy
1986 Cleveland Cavaliers Brad Daugherty North Carolina
1985 New York Knicks Patrick Ewing Georgetown
1984 Houston Rockets Hakeem Olajuwon Houston
1983 Houston Rockets Ralph Sampson Virginia
1982 Los Angeles Lakers James Worthy North Carolina
1981 Dallas Mavericks Mark Aguirre DePaul
1980 Golden State Warriors Joe Barry Carroll Purdue
1979 Los Angeles Lakers Magic Johnson Michigan State
1978 Portland Trail Blazers Mychal Thompson Minnesota
1977 Milwaukee Bucks Kent Benson Indiana
1976 Houston Rockets John Lucas Maryland
1975 Atlanta Hawks David Thompson North Carolina State
1974 Portland Trail Blazers Bill Walton UCLA
1973 Philadelphia 76ers Doug Collins Illinois State
1972 Portland Trail Blazers LaRue Martin Loyola University of Chicago
1971 Cleveland Cavaliers Austin Carr Notre Dame
1970 Detroit Pistons Bob Lanier St. Bonaventure
1969 Milwaukee Bucks Kareem Abdul-Jabbar UCLA
1968 San Diego Rockets Elvin Hayes Houston
1967 Detroit Pistons Jimmy Walker Providence College
1966 New York Knicks Cazzie Russell Michigan
1965 San Francisco Warriors Fred Hetzel Davidson College
1964 New York Knicks Jim Barnes University of Texas at El Paso
1963 New York Knicks Art Heyman Duke
1962 Chicago Zephyrs Bill McGill Utah
1961 Chicago Packers Walt Bellamy Indiana
1960 Cincinnati Royals Oscar Robertson Cincinnati
1959 Cincinnati Royals Bob Boozer Kansas State
1958 Minneapolis Lakers Elgin Baylor Seattle
1957 Cincinnati Royals Hot Rod Hundley West Virginia
1956 Rochester Royals Si Green Duquesne
1955 St. Louis Hawks Dick Ricketts Duquesne
1954 Baltimore Bullets Frank Selvy Furman
1953 Baltimore Bullets Ray Felix Long Island
1952 Milwaukee Hawks Mark Workman West Virginia
1951 Baltimore Bullets Gene Melchiorre Bradley
1950 Boston Celtics Chuck Share Bowling Green
1949 Providence Steam Rollers Howie Shannon Kansas State
1948 Providence Steam Rollers Andy Tonkovich Marshall
1947 Pittsburgh Ironmen Clifton McNeeley University of Texas at El Paso