NBA History
NBA History

NBA Rookie of the Year Award Winners

NBA History: Awards

A year-by-year list of the Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award winners:

YEAR           PLAYER(S)                TEAM(S)
2016-17     Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks (Voting Totals)
2015-16     Karl-Anthony Towns, Minnesota Timberwolves (Voting Totals)
2014-15     Andrew Wiggins, Minnesota TImberwolves
2013-14     Michael Carter-Williams, Philadelphia 76ers
2012-13     Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
2011-12     Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers
2010-11     Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers
2009-10     Tyreke Evans, Sacramento Kings
2008-09     Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls
2007-08     Kevin Durant, Seattle SuperSonics
2006-07     Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
2005-06     Chris Paul, New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets
2004-05     Emeka Okafor, Charlotte Bobcats
2003-04     LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2002-03     Amar'e Stoudemire, Phoenix Suns
2001-02     Pau Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies
2000-01     Mike Miller, Orlando Magic
1999-00     Steve Francis, Elton Brand, Houston Rockets, Chicago Bulls
1998-99     Vince Carter, Toronto Raptors
1997-98     Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
1996-97     Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers
1995-96     Damon Stoudamire, Toronto Raptors
1994-95     Jason Kidd, Grant Hill, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons
1993-94     Chris Webber, Golden State Warriors
1992-93     Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando Magic
1991-92     Larry Johnson, Charlotte Hornets
1990-91     Derrick Coleman, New Jersey Nets
1989-90     David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
1988-89     Mitch Richmond, Golden State Warriors
1987-88     Mark Jackson, New York Knicks
1986-87     Chuck Person, Indiana Pacers
1985-86     Patrick Ewing, New York Knicks
1984-85     Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1983-84     Ralph Sampson, Houston Rockets
1982-83     Terry Cummings, San Diego Clippers
1981-82     Buck Williams, New Jersey Nets
1980-81     Darrell Griffith, Utah Jazz
1979-80     Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1978-79     Phil Ford, Kansas City Kings
1977-78     Walter Davis, Phoenix Suns
1976-77     Adrian Dantley, Buffalo Braves
1975-76     Alvan Adams, Phoenix Suns
1974-75     Jamaal Wilkes, Golden State Warriors
1973-74     Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo Braves
1972-73     Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves
1971-72     Sidney Wicks, Portland Trail Blazers
1970-71     Geoff Petrie, Dave Cowens, Portland Trail Blazers, Boston Celtics
1969-70     Lew Alcindor, Milwaukee Bucks
1968-69     Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets
1967-68     Earl Monroe, Baltimore Bullets
1966-67     Dave Bing, Detroit Pistons
1965-66     Rick Barry, San Francisco Warriors
1964-65     Willis Reed, New York Knicks
1963-64     Jerry Lucas, Cincinnati Royals
1962-63     Terry Dischinger, Chicago Zephyrs
1961-62     Walt Bellamy, Chicago Packers
1960-61     Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals
1959-60     Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors
1958-59     Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis Lakers
1957-58     Wood Sauldsberry, Philadelphia Warriors
1956-57     Tom Heinsohn, Boston Celtics
1955-56     Maurice Stokes, Rochester Royals
1954-55     Bob Pettit, Milwaukee Hawks
1953-54     Ray Felix, Baltimore Bullets
1952-53     Don Meineke, Fort Wayne Pistons

Copyright © 2018 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.