Click here to Skip to main content

NBA Executive of the Year Award Winners

Posted Feb 26 2013 12:02PM

A year-by-year list of the NBA's Executive of the Year award winners:

Year Executive(s) Team(s)
2011-12 Larry Bird Indiana Pacers
2010-11 Gar Forman
Pat Riley
Chicago Bulls
Miami Heat
2009-10 John Hammond Milwaukee Bucks
2008-09 Mark Warkentien Denver Nuggets
2007-08 Danny Ainge Boston Celtics
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo Toronto Raptors
2005-06 Elgin Baylor Los Angeles Clippers
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo Phoenix Suns
2003-04 Jerry West Memphis Grizzlies
2002-03 Joe Dumars Detroit Pistons
2001-02 Rod Thorn New Jersey Nets
2000-01 Geoff Petrie Sacramento Kings
1999-00 John Gabriel Orlando Magic
1998-99 Geoff Petrie Sacramento Kings
1997-98 Wayne Embry Cleveland Cavaliers
1996-97 Bob Bass Charlotte Hornets
1995-96 Jerry Krause Chicago Bulls
1994-95 Jerry West Los Angeles Lakers
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt Seattle SuperSonics
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo Phoenix Suns
1991-92 Wayne Embry Cleveland Cavaliers
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter Portland Trail Blazers
1989-90 Bob Bass San Antonio Spurs
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo Phoenix Suns
1987-88 Jerry Krause Chicago Bulls
1986-87 Stan Kasten Atlanta Hawks
1985-86 Stan Kasten Atlanta Hawks
1984-85 Vince Boryla Denver Nuggets
1983-84 Frank Layden Utah Jazz
1982-83 Zollie Volchok Seattle SuperSonics
1981-82 Bob Ferry Washington Bullets
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo Phoenix Suns
1979-80 Red Auerbach Boston Celtics
1978-79 Bob Ferry Washington Bullets
1977-78 Angelo Drossos San Antonio Spurs
1976-77 Ray Patterson Houston Rockets
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo Phoenix Suns
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb Golden State Warriors
1973-74 Eddie Donovan Buffalo Braves
1972-73 Joe Axelson Kansas City/Omaha Kings
photo2017 All-Star Weeekend Lookback
With All-Star Weekend now behind us, here's a look at the moments that made for another memorable visit to New Orleans.
photoGameTime: Milt Newton
Timberwolves' former general manager Milt Newton joins GameTime to speak on the trade rumors swirling in Minnesota.
photoGameTime: Kevin Ding
Bleacher Report's Kevin Ding joins GameTime to speak on the Lakers' new President of Basketball Operations Magic Johnson.
photoBeyond The Paint: Michele Roberts
After less than 3 years on the job, the woman who guided the players through the CBA process, Michele Roberts, sat down with David Aldridge and spoke about many things including her relationship with the players she leads.
photoBeyond The Paint: Brandon Roy
After a few years searching, Brandon Roy is back on the basketball scene in his hometown of Seattle and his coaching career is starting just as successfully as his NBA career once did.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.