NBA History
NBA History

NBA Coach of the Year Award Winners

NBA History: Awards

A year-by-year list of the NBA Coach of the Year Award winners:

YEAR           COACH                TEAM
2017-18    Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors (Voting)
2016-17    Mike D'Antoni, Houston Rockets (Voting)
2015-16    Steve Kerr, Golden State Warriors (Voting)
2014-15    Mike Budenholzer, Atlanta Hawks
2013-14    Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
2012-13    George Karl, Denver Nuggets
2011-12    Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
2010-11    Tom Thibodeau, Chicago Bulls
2009-10    Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City Thunder
2008-09    Mike Brown, Cleveland Cavaliers
2007-08    Byron Scott, New Orleans Hornets
2006-07    Sam Mitchell, Toronto Raptors
2005-06    Avery Johnson, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05    Mike D'Antoni, Phoenix Suns
2003-04    Hubie Brown, Memphis Grizzlies
2002-03    Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
2001-02    Rick Carlisle, Detroit Pistons
2000-01    Larry Brown, Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00    Doc Rivers, Orlando Magic
1998-99    Mike Dunleavy, Portland Trail Blazers
1997-98    Larry Bird, Indiana Pacers
1996-97    Pat Riley, Miami Heat
1995-96    Phil Jackson, Chicago Bulls
1994-95    Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers
1993-94    Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta Hawks
1992-93    Pat Riley, New York Knicks
1991-92    Don Nelson, Golden State Warriors
1990-91    Don Chaney, Houston Rockets
1989-90    Pat Riley, Los Angeles Lakers
1988-89    Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix Suns
1987-88    Doug Moe, Denver Nuggets
1986-87    Mike Shuler, Portland Trail Blazers
1985-86    Mike Fratello, Atlanta Hawks
1984-85    Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks
1983-84    Frank Layden, Utah Jazz
1982-83    Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks
1981-82    Gene Shue, Washington Bullets
1980-81    Jack McKinney, Indiana Pacers
1979-80    Bill Fitch, Boston Celtics
1978-79    Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City Kings
1977-78    Hubie Brown, Atlanta Hawks
1976-77    Tom Nissalke, Houston Rockets
1975-76    Bill Fitch, Cleveland Cavaliers
1974-75    Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha Kings
1973-74    Ray Scott, Detroit Pistons
1972-73    Tom Heinsohn, Boston Celtics
1971-72    Bill Sharman, Los Angeles Lakers
1970-71    Dick Motta, Chicago Bulls
1969-70    Red Holzman, New York Knicks
1968-69    Gene Shue, Baltimore Bullets
1967-68    Richie Guerin, St. Louis Hawks
1966-67    Johnny Kerr, Chicago Bulls
1965-66    Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia 76ers
1964-65    Red Auerbach, Boston Celtics
1963-64    Alex Hannum, San Francisco Warriors
1962-63    Harry Gallatin, St. Louis Hawks

Copyright © 2018 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.