HEAT, Sun Sports Receive Seven Suncoast Emmy Nominations

MIAMI, November 4th –The Miami HEAT announced today that HEAT Broadcasting and HEATV, the internal broadcasting arms for the team and AmericanAirlines Arena, have received seven nominations at the upcoming 34th Annual Suncoast Emmy Awards. The Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is a prestigious nonprofit organization that is committed to honoring excellence in television.   

Since 1999, HEAT broadcasts and the people who make them possible have been honored with 29 nominations in various program and craft area achievements. The telecasts have earned 13 of these Suncoast Chapter Emmy Awards. In addition to their recognition for excellent game broadcasts, the HEAT production team has also won Emmy awards for graphic animation, directing, promotions, short-form films, reporting, editing and features. This year, the team received its first ever nomination for writing.  

For the 7th straight season, the HEAT Broadcasting edit staff has been nominated for their work. Heat features, promo campaigns, teases and bumpers have received 11 nominations and have been honored with five Emmys during that time period. 

HEATV editors and photographers have received more than a dozen nominations since 2002, with the staff claiming six Emmy awards. The Sun Sports critically acclaimed series Inside the HEAT, a HEATV production, was once again honored, receiving nominations on two separate shows. At least one episode of Inside the HEAT has been nominated in each of the six years the show has been produced. The producers, editors and photographers on the series have been nominated on multiple occasions for their individual contributions to the programs. 

This year marks the first time that two separate HEAT game telecasts have been nominated in the same Emmy season. The honor marked the fourth time in the last six years that the highly-acclaimed game broadcasts received this distinguished recognition. Only three live sporting events in the entire Suncoast region, which includes four southern states and Puerto Rico, were nominated for an Emmy. Two of these were HEAT games. 

HEAT nominations for the 34th Annual Suncoast Emmy Awards ceremony include: 

Sporting Event/Game – Live/Unedited


Cleveland vs. Miami:

January 25, 2010

Edward Ballard, Arnold Speaks, Jr., Robert Hewitt, Benard Worrell, LaVaughn Wright, Ibram Gaston,

Charlie Luken, Tony Fiorentino, Eric Reid, Jason Jackson

The Miami HEAT/Sun Sports, Miami, FL


Kids' Day Broadcast –

Milwaukee vs. Miami: February 27, 2010

Edward Ballard, Arnold Speaks, Jr., Robert Hewitt, Ibram Gaston, Benard Worrell, LaVaughn Wright, Charlie Luken, Tony Fiorentino, Eric Reid, Jason Jackson

The Miami HEAT/Sun Sports, Miami, FL


Sports - Regularly Scheduled Daily or Weekly Program


Inside the HEAT:  Team Within The Team

Matthew R. Shedenhelm, Ed Filomia, Keith Haeberle, Evelyn Gonzalez, Shanon Irish, Patricia Donoso,

Amber Tollefson, Daniel Roujansky,

Eric Reid, Mauricio Estrada

The Miami HEAT, Miami, FL


Inside the HEAT:  Dwyane Wade

Katie Carballo, Patricia Donoso, Shanon Irish,

Amber Tollefson, Jason Jackson, Ed Filomia,

Keith Haeberle, Matthew Shedenhelm,

Daniel Roujansky, Mauricio Estrada

FOX Sports Florida/Sun Sports, Orlando, FL

Editor – Sports

HEAT Teases and Bumpers

Charlie Luken, Benard Worrell

The Miami HEAT/Sun Sports, Miami, FL


Editor – Program

Inside The HEAT: "Quentin Richardson"

Daniel Roujansky

FOX Sports Florida/Sun Sports, Miami, FL

Writer - Short Form 

HEAT Teases

Edward Ballard

The Miami HEAT, Miami, FL  

HEAT broadcast partners, FOX Sports Florida & Sun Sports, received a record setting 21 Emmy nominations this year. The HEAT staff accounted for one-third of these nominations. A ceremony announcing the winners will take place on Saturday, December 4 at the Westin Beach Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. 

The Miami HEAT is proud to have ASSIST-CARD as the Presenting Sponsor for the 2010-11 season.