RSS Print Live! Wire

Dwyane Wade Named to NBA All-Defensive Second Team

May 5 2010 4:25PM

MIAMI, 5/5– The NBA has announced that Miami HEAT guard Dwyane Wade has been named to the 2009-10 NBA All-Defensive Second Team. This marks the third time in Wade’s career that he has earned NBA All-Defensive Team honors. The three All-Defensive Team honors are the most in HEAT franchise history. Wade previously earned Second Team honors during both the 2004-05 and 2008-09 seasons. The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote. Wade finished with eight First Team votes and four Second Team votes for 20 points. Jermaine O’Neal was the only other HEAT player to receive any votes, garnering one First Team vote for two points.  

Earning NBA All-Defensive First Team honors were Orlando center Dwight Howard, Boston guard Rajon Rondo, Cleveland forward LeBron James, Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant and Charlotte forward Gerald Wallace. Joining Wade on the NBA All-Defensive Second Team were San Antonio center Tim Duncan, Atlanta forward Josh Smith, Cleveland forward Anderson Varejao and Oklahoma City guard Thabo Sefolosha. 

For the second straight season, Wade led all guards in the NBA in blocks while also finishing in the Top 4 in the league in steals per game. His efforts helped lead Miami to second place rankings in the league in both scoring defense (94.2 ppg) and field goal percentage defense (.439). The HEAT co-captain ranked fourth in the NBA in steals per game (1.84 spg) and 29th overall in blocks per game (1.06 bpg). His 142 total steals marked his third best single-season total and the sixth highest single-season total in franchise history. The 2009-10 season marked the sixth consecutive season in which Wade has led the HEAT in steals, also a franchise record. He recorded at least one steal in a season-high 17 games from Feb. 28-Apr. 2 and registered at least one block in a season-high eight games from Mar. 14-28. Additionally, he topped the HEAT in steals a team-high 43 times and also was Miami’s top shot blocker in 22 games this season. Wade finished the 2009-10 season with 41 multi-steal games and 22 multi-block games. His 1.06 blocks per game average marked the second straight season in which Wade registered more than one block per game, the third time in the last four seasons and the fourth time in his career. Wade became the first guard to average more than one block per game in consecutive seasons since former Boston Celtics guard Reggie Lewis accomplished the feat in the 1990-91 and 1991-92 seasons. 

This marks the eighth time a member of the HEAT has been selected to an NBA All-Defensive Team. In addition to Wade’s three Second Team honors, Alonzo Mourning captured First Team honors twice (1989-90 and 1999-00), P.J. Brown was a two-time Second Team member (1996-97 and 1998-99) and Bruce Bowen garned Second Team honors in 2000-01.

2009-10 NBA All-Defensive Teams 

Position Player, Team 1st 2nd Points
Center Dwight Howard, Orlando 28 1 57
Guard Rajon Rondo, Boston 23 4 50
Forward LeBron James, Cleveland 20 5 45
Guard Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers 13 8 34
Forward Gerald Wallace, Charlotte 11 8 30


Position  Player, Team 1st 2nd Points
Center Tim Duncan, San Antonio  8 5 21
Guard Dwyane Wade, Miami  8 4 20
Forward Josh Smith, Atlanta 6 8 20
Forward Anderson Varejao, Cleveland 2 11 15
Guard Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City 3 8 14


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): Jason Kidd, Dallas, 12 (4); Marcus Camby, Portland, 12 (1); Ron Artest, 11 (3); Deron Williams, Utah, 10, (2); Kirk Hinrich, Chicago, 9 (1); Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee, 8; Luc Mbah a Moute, Milwaukee, 8 (1); Arron Afflalo, Denver, 6 (1); Kenyon Martin, Denver, 5 (1); Kevin Garnett, Boston, 5 (1); Grant Hill, Phoenix, 4 (2); Joakim Noah, Chicago, 4; Kendrick Perkins, Boston, 4 (1); Shane Battier, Houston, 4 (1); Andrei Kirilenko, Utah, 3 (1); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 3; Trevor Ariza, Houston, 3 (1); Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia, 2; George Hill, San Antonio, 2 (1); Jermaine O’Neal, Miami, 2 (1); Joe Johnson, Atlanta, 2 (1); Lamar Odom, L.A. Lakers, 2 (1); Luis Scola, Houston, 2; Manu Ginobili, San Antonio, 2 (1); Nicolas Batum, Portland, 2; Caron Butler, Dallas, 1; Chauncey Billups, Denver, 1; Jared Dudley, Phoenix, 1; Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 1; Raymond Felton, Charlotte, 1; Marc Gasol, Memphis, 1; Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers, 1; Chuck Hayes, Houston, 1; Brendan Haywood, Dallas, 1; Al Horford, Atlanta, 1; Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City, 1; Ersan Ilyasova, Milwaukee, 1; Stephen Jackson, Charlotte, 1; Nene, Denver, 1; Chris Paul, New Orleans, 1; Tayshaun Prince, Detroit, 1; Earl Watson, Indiana, 1.  

The Miami HEAT is proud to welcome Assist Card as the Presenting Sponsor for the 2009-10 HEAT season.