RSS Print Live! Wire

Beasley Selected to Play in 2010 T-mobile Rookie Challenge and Youth Jam

Feb 1 2010 11:45AM

Beasley to make his second consecutive appearance 

MIAMI, 01/27 – Miami HEAT forward Michael Beasley has been selected to play in the Rookie Challenge and Youth Jam during the 2010 NBA All-Star Weekend festivities. Beasley is one of nine second-year players selected to participate against a team of rookies on Friday, Feb. 12 in Dallas, TX at American Airlines Center. The participants were selected by the NBA’s assistant coaches and the game will be televised live nationally on TNT at 9PM ET. 

“It’s an honor to be named to the Sophomore team,” said Beasley. “It shows that my hard work is paying off and I look forward to joining my teammates at the All-Star Weekend festivities.” 

Beasley, the second overall draft choice in the 2008 NBA Draft by Miami, has started in all 44 games this season for the HEAT and has averaged 16.2 points, 6.8 rebounds, 1.3 assists and 32.1 minutes. He joins Dwyane Wade and Udonis Haslem as the only HEAT players to appear in the Rookie Challenge and Youth Jam game in consecutive seasons as both a rookie and sophomore player. He ranks second on the team in scoring, second in total rebounds (297), second in field goals made (286), third in steals (39), fourth in assists (59), fourth in free throw percentage (.809) and sixth in field goal percentage (.464). 

The second-year forward has already recorded 16 20-plus point games and eight double-doubles, matching his rookie totals in each category. The 21-year old has led the team in rebounding 13 times and in points on six occasions and has currently played in 104 consecutive games dating back to Dec. 14, 2008. Additionally, Beasley set career highs in three-point field goals made (four) on Jan. 11 at Utah, free throws made (11) and attempted (12) on Dec. 1 at Portland while tying his career high of 28 points on two occasions this season, first on Dec. 15 against Toronto and then again on Jan. 16 at Oklahoma City.  

Beasley will be joined on the Sophomore team by Chicago’s Derrick Rose, L.A. Clippers’ Eric Gordon, Memphis’ Marc Gasol and O.J. Mayo, Minnesota’s Kevin Love, New Jersey’s Brook Lopez, New York’s Danilo Gallinari and Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook. The Rookie team consists of Chicago’s Taj Gibson, Detroit’s Jonas Jerebko, Golden State’s Stephen Curry, Milwaukee’s Brandon Jennings, Minnesota’s Jonny Flynn, Oklahoma City’s James Harden, Sacramento’s Omar Casspi and Tyreke Evans and San Antonio’s DeJuan Blair. 

The Miami HEAT is proud to welcome Assist Card as the Presenting Sponsor for the 2009-10 HEAT season.