2009 NBA Three-Point Champion Daequan Cook Looks to Defend His Title

MIAMI, 10/08 – The reigning 2009 NBA Three-Point Shootout Champ, Miami HEAT guard Daequan Cook, has been selected to defend his title in the Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout at the 2010 NBA All-Star Saturday Night event in Dallas, TX. The nationally televised NBA All-Star Saturday Night event will take place at the American Airlines Center on February 13. 

Cook, looking to repeat, captured last year’s crown after hitting his last four consecutive shots from long range in the second round, forcing an overtime shoot-off with Rashard Lewis. In the overtime round, Cook posted the highest total of the night, scoring 19 points to capture the 2009 title. He now looks to become only the seventh player in the NBA to capture consecutive titles. 

Cook is the fourth HEAT player to be represented in the event and looks to be the first to win consecutive titles. Including Cook, the last three Miami HEAT participates have all won the three-point shootout, Jason Kapono won the event in 2007 while Glen Rice captured the title in 1995. Additionally, Glen Rice competed in 1991 and Jon Sundvold competed in 1989 and then again in 1990. 

The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2010 commemorative blue and silver “money ball” worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance. 

Other invitees joining Cook include Chauncey Billups, Stephen Curry, Channing Frye, Danilo Gallinari and Paul Pierce. 

The Miami HEAT is proud to welcome Assist Card as the Presenting Sponsor for the 2009-10 HEAT season.