Print RSS

Tony Allen selected to 2010-11 NBA All-Defensive Second Team

Joe Murphy/NBAE/Getty Images

First All-Defensive Selection for Franchise and Seven-Year Veteran

MEMPHIS, May 9, 2011 – Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen was selected to the 2010-11 NBA All-Defensive Second Team, becoming the first Grizzlies player to earn All-Defensive honors, the league announced today. Named to an All-Defensive Team for the first time in his career, Allen led the Second Team with 23 points overall, including seven First Team votes.

One of the league’s most aggressive perimeter defenders, Allen led the Grizzlies this season with a career-high 1.79 steals per game. He topped all NBA players by averaging 4.14 steals per 48 minutes, which was over an entire theft higher than second-place Chris Paul (3.13) and the highest mark the Association had seen since Nate McMillan in 1993-94.

After finishing fifth in the NBA in steals average despite playing just 20.8 minutes per contest, the 6-4, 213-pound guard placed fourth (highest among perimeter players) in the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year voting behind Orlando’s Dwight Howard (winner), Boston’s Kevin Garnett and Dallas’ Tyson Chandler.

With a career-high 0.61 blocks, the Chicago native was one of only three qualifying players in the league, including Miami’s LeBron James and Golden State’s Dorell Wright, to average at least 1.50 steals and 0.50 blocks per game.

Memphis’ main offseason acquisition, the seven-year veteran helped the Grizzlies hold their opponents to just 97.6 points during the regular season after the club gave up an average of 104.0 points in the year prior. With Allen prowling the perimeter, the Grizzlies led the NBA in steals (9.40) and forced turnovers (16.7) while ranking second in points off turnovers (19.4) and fourth in fastbreak points (16.7).

The 29-year-old also averaged 8.9 points, 2.7 rebounds and 1.4 assists in 72 games (31 starts) in his first season with the Grizzlies, who lead the Oklahoma City Thunder two-games-to-one in their best-of-seven Western Conference Semifinals series. Memphis became the first eight-seed to defeat a one-seed in a best-of-seven after knocking off the top-seeded San Antonio Spurs, 4-2, in the first round.

Headlined by Orlando’s Dwight Howard (56 points), the reigning three-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year, the 2010-11 NBA All-Defensive First Team also includes Boston’s Rajon Rondo (39 points), Miami’s LeBron James (38 points), Boston’s Kevin Garnett (33 points) and the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant (33 points).

Also selected to the All-Defensive Second Team were New Orleans’ Chris Paul (18 points), Dallas’ Tyson Chandler (17 points), Philadelphia’s Andre Iguodala (15 points) and Chicago’s Joakim Noah (15 points).

Memphis forward Shane Battier also received five points, including two First Team nods.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote, and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

The 2010-11 NBA All-Defensive First and Second Team results are below. The complete balloting is attached.


Position Player Team 1st 2nd Points
Center Dwight Howard ORL 27 2 56
Guard Rajon Rondo BOS 16 7 39
Forward LeBron James MIA 17 4 38
Guard Kobe Bryant LAL 13 7 33
Forward Kevin Garnett BOS 15 3 33


Position Player Team 1st 2nd Points
Guard Tony Allen MEM 7 9 23
Guard Chris Paul NOH 6 6 18
Center Tyson Chandler DAL 3 11 17
Forward Andre Iguodala PHI 5 5 15
Forward Joakim Noah CHI 3 9 15