By Mo Wang

The Global Top 10 is your weekly guide to NBA global news. In this week's edition find out who were announced as the members of Basketball Hall of Fame, who led their team to a playoff berth and who witnessed landmark victories.

HOF Welcomes New Members

Every April, a group of players, coaches, referees, and other major contributors to the sport of basketball are honored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. This year, Jamaica native Patrick Ewing, Nigeria native Hakeem Olajuwon and five other finalists including Pat Riley, Adrian Dantley, Cathy Rush, Dick Vitale and Bill Davidson were announced as the seven members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2008.

Warrior, that is the one-word description often applied to Patrick Ewing. During his 17-year career, The Kingston-born athlete was a two-time Olympic gold medalist, 11-time All-Star and was named to three All-Defensive Teams and seven All-NBA Teams. Ewing remains the New York Knicks' all-time leader in total points (23,665), games played (1,039), rebounds (10,759), blocks (2,758), steals (1,061) and minutes (37, 586). During his 18-year career, Nigeria-born Hakeem Olajuwon led the Houston Rockets to back-to-back NBA championships in 1994 and 1995, received the Defensive Play of the Year award two times and was named league MVP in 1994. He was a 12-time All-Star and was named to nine All-Defensive Teams and 12 All-NBA Teams. Olajuwon told after the announcement, "Growing up in Nigeria, I didn't really understand the magnitude of what it means to be in the Hall of Fame, I still cannot believe I'm in the same company with all these great legends."

Video: Career Retrospective: Patrick Ewing
Video: Career Retrospective: Hakeem Olajuwon