Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond, David Stern and Sarunas Marciulionis highlight 2014 Hall of Fame class

Longtime NBA commissioner David Stern and NBA Legends Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond and Sarunas Marciulonis headlined the list of inductees when the 2014 Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame class was announced on Monday.

Held in Dallas, Tex. before the NCAA Men's Basketball championship game, the ceremony announced 10 inductees in total -- including including two direct-elects: Nat “Sweetwater” Clifton, who served as a pioneer becoming the second African-American to sign an NBA contract, and Bob “Slick” Leonard, who is the winningest coach in ABA history and led the Indiana Pacers to three ABA championships. The landmark 1972-74 Immaculata College women's basketball teams were also honored.

Stern spent three decades as NBA Commissioner, overseeing the league’s extraordinary growth with seven new franchises, a more than 30-fold increase in revenues, a dramatic expansion of national television exposure, the introduction of the salary cap system and revenue sharing, and the launch of two leagues, the WNBA and the NBA D-League.

Mourning, a 15-year NBA veteran, was a 7-time All-Star, 2-time Defensive Player of the Year and NBA champion with the Miami Heat, where he spent 10 seasons

Richmond played for 14 seasons -- three of them in Golden State, where he was part of the famed 'Run TMC' team -- and was a six-time All-Star. He won an NBA title with the Lakers in his final season, 2001-02.

The Lithuania-born Marciulonis, elected by the International Committee, was a key part of the first wave of European players to join the NBA. Named one of FIBA's 50 Greatest Players, he also played eight years in the NBA, debuting with Golden State in 1989-90 and finishing with Denver in 1996-97.

The Class of 2014 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Aug. 8, 2014 in Springfield, Massachusetts.