SAN ANTONIO, June 8, 2005 – When The Finals tips off between the Detroit Pistons and San Antonio Spurs, a record seven international stars will be competing for the rights to the coveted Larry O’Brien Trophy. As a result, 42 international telecasters will be on-site in San Antonio and Detroit, the most in the history of The Finals. The global event starts tomorrow, June 9, with coverage beginning in the U.S. at 8:30 p.m. ET on ABC.

The Finals will reach fans in 205 countries and territories through 106 telecasters and 45 different languages. Each game will reach more than 3.1 billion people worldwide through NBA Entertainment's television, Internet, film and digital technology.

Manu Ginobili, Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, Beno Udrih, Rasho Nesterovic, Darko Milicic and Carlos Arroyo. (NBAE/Getty Images)

San Antonio’s Manu Ginobili (Argentina), Tim Duncan (Virgin Islands), Tony Parker (France), Rasho Nesterovic (Slovenia) and Beno Udrih (Slovenia), along with Detroit’s Carlos Arroyo (Puerto Rico) and Darko Milicic (Serbia and Montenegro), will be representing the NBA’s international contingent at The Finals. This will mark the third trip to The Finals for Duncan, the second for Ginobili, Parker and Milicic and the first for Nesterovic, Udrih and Arroyo.

NBA team rosters featured a record 76 international players from 34 countries and territories at the end of the 2004-05 season.

America TV of Argentina will broadcast The Finals live, reaching more than 11 million television households throughout the country. America TV aired its first-ever NBA game earlier in the season, covering hometown hero Ginobili in his first NBA All-Star Game.

“Argentinean fans are passionate about the NBA and have followed closely Manu’s rapid rise to NBA stardom,” said Eduardo Bagnato, America TV Sports Director. “There is a buzz in the air as our viewers will be watching Manu attempt to add yet another championship to his blossoming career.”

In addition to 42 international telecasters, there will be six customized NBA programs on-site to cover The Finals. More than 20 broadcasters, including long-standing partners Canal+ France, TV Azteca of Mexico and CCTV of China, will be providing live on-site commentary. Canal+ France is celebrating its 15th year of on-site coverage of The Finals.

“Canal+ France is thrilled to have followed Tony Parker all season long,” said Michael Denisot, Chief Operating Officer, Canal+ France. “Reaching The Finals with the San Antonio Spurs for the second time in three years has elevated him to the ranks as one of France’s biggest sports stars.”

“Basketball fans in Slovenia are delighted with the Spurs’ well earned place in The Finals,” said Igor E. Bergant, RTV Slovenia Head of Sports. “With Rasho Nesterovic and Beno Udrih, this will be the first time basketball enthusiasts in our tiny country between the Mediterranean Sea and Alps will have the privilege to witness its fellow countrymen trying to capture the ultimate, an NBA title."

The following international broadcasters will air The Finals for the first time: America TV (Argentina), Armenia TV (Armenia), BeTV (Belgium), Diema 2 (Bulgaria), Radio Guangdong (China), LBC (Lebanon), 5 Kanalas (Lithuania), 8TV (Malaysia), Silverbird TV (Nigeria), Cable Magico Deportes (Peru), RPN-9 (Philippines), TSN (Canada) and Megasport (Ukraine).

Live commentary from our broadcasters will be streamed over in up to 15 different languages: Cantonese (Multicultural Radio – U.S.), Mandarin (CCTV 5 - China), Tagalog (RPN 9 - Philippines), Hebrew (The Sports Channel - Israel), French (Canal+ France), German (Premiere Sport - Germany), Portuguese (Sky – Brazil), Russian (NTV Plus Sport - Russia), Spanish (Canal+ Spain), Serbian (B92 TV – Serbia and Montenegro), Greek (Supersport - Greece), Italian (Sky Sport 2 - Italy), Polish (Canal+ Sport – Poland), Flemish (Canal+ Blauw – Belgium) and English (ABC).

Throughout North America, the Finals will be broadcast on ABC (TV) and ESPN Radio in English and Spanish (SAP), along with Multicultural Radio Broadcasting Inc. (Cantonese) and Radiovisa (Spanish) in the United States.

GAME 1 – Thursday, June 9 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 2 – Sunday, June 12 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 3 – Tuesday, June 14 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 4 – Thursday, June 16 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 5* – Sunday, June 19 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 6* – Tuesday, June 21 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)
GAME 7* – Thursday, June 23 @ 8:30 p.m. (ET)

*If Necessary