This two-time top defender seeks a third trophy.
(Fernando Medina/NBAE/Getty Images)
With the conclusion of the 2004-05 regular season, asked fans who they thought should win each of the six major regular-season awards. Can Steve Nash become only the fourth point guard to ever win NBA MVP honors? Does Ben Wallace have what it takes to become a three-time Defensive Player of the Year award winner? The polls have closed, but check back Tuesday, April 25 at 2 p.m. ET for full results.

Note: Fan votes do not count toward determining the actual award winner.

Check out the six awards and those players in the running:

NBA Most Valuable Player (Maurice Podoloff Trophy)
NBA Coach of the Year (Red Auerbach Trophy)
got milk? NBA Rookie of the Year (Eddie Gottlieb Trophy)
NBA Defensive Player of the Year
NBA Most Improved Player
NBA Sixth Man Award

Here are a few historical facts and figures to keep in mind:

Since 1990, only two players have been on teams which made it out of the first round of the playoffs during the season they earned Rookie of the Year honors -- Tim Duncan (1997-98) and David Robinson (1989-90).

Dikembe Mutombo (1994-95, 1996-97, 1997-98, 2000-01) is the only player to win NBA Defensive Player of the Year honors three or more times. Ben Wallace won the award twice (2001-02, 2002-03).

Despite sharing the NBA record for the most seasons leading the league in steals (three) and also holding record for most consecutive seasons leading the league in steals (three, 2000-01 through 2002-03), Allen Iverson has never earned Defensive Player of the Year honors or been named to an NBA All-Defensive Team.

Phoenix's Steve Nash could join Magic Johnson, Oscar Robertson and Bob Cousy as the only point guards in NBA history to ever win NBA Most Valuable Player honors. At 6-feet-3-inches, Nash could also become the third shortest player to win the award.

No coach has ever been named NBA Coach of the Year after taking a team over mid-season. Will Denver's George Karl become the first? Karl's .833 winning percentage since taking over the Nuggets on Jan. 28 ranks highest for a coach who took over a team mid-season. The next three top marks were posted by teams which went on to reach the NBA Finals -- Lenny Wilkens (Seattle, 1977-78, .700), Paul Westhead (L.A. Lakers, 1979-80, .735) and Pat Riley (L.A. Lakers, 1981-82, .704).

Del Curry (Charlotte, 1993-94) is the only player ever to win the NBA Sixth Man award on a team which did not qualify for that year's playoffs.

Most Valuable Player
Fan: Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (50.7%)
Official: Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
got milk? Rookie of the Year
Fan: Carmelo Anthony, Denver (59.3%)
Official: LeBron James, Cleveland
Defensive Player of the Year
Fan: Ben Wallace, Detroit (25.8%)
Official: Ron Artest, Indiana
Sixth Man Award
Fan: Emanuel Ginobili, San Antonio (31.8%)
Official: Antawn Jamison, Dallas
Most Improved Player
Fan: Zach Randolph, Portland (20.6%)
Official: Zach Randolph, Portland
Coach of the Year
Fan: Hubie Brown, Memphis (37.7%)
Official: Hubie Brown, Memphis