Springfield Armor to Select 14th in 2009 NBA Development League Draft

The Springfield Armor will have the 14th overall selection in the 2009 NBA Development League Draft, which will be conducted on Thursday, November 5th. The draft lottery took place at the annual coaches meetings in Dallas, TX on September 29th.

The ninth annual NBA D-Leage Draft will be take place from the NBA TV studio in Atlanta, GA. It will be televised on NBA TV and streamed live online on NBA.com beginning at 7 p.m. EST.

“I’m excited for the draft and look forward to assembling a top notch roster for the Armor’s inaugural season,” Armor Head Coach and Director of Basketball Operations Dee Brown said. “There will be a great deal of quality talent available via the draft, and (Armor Assistant Coach) Kevin (Whitted) and I plan to capitalize in each and every round.”

The NBA D-League Draft utilizes a “serpentine” format, meaning the order will alternate in each of the eight rounds. For example, the team picking last in the first round will select first in the second round, giving it the 16th and 17th overall choices. Therefore, the Armor will select third in even-numbered rounds.

During the draft, NBA TV host Rick Kamla will share the stage with NBA D-League Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel Chris Alpert to provide insight into the draft proceedings and the composition of NBA D-League team rosters.

“The upcoming NBA D-League Draft will feature more than 140 talented prospects, many of whom will have recently competed in NBA training camps and summer leagues,” Alpert said. “If history is any indication, a number of those players drafted in November will go on to have successful NBA D-League and NBA careers.”

Each of the NBA D-League’s 16 teams will receive one pick in each round. No trades will be permitted during the draft and only players signed to an NBA Development League Standard Player Contract are eligible to be selected.

Below is the first-round order for the 2009 draft:

1. Albuquerque Thunderbirds

2. Erie BayHawks

3. Los Angeles D-Fenders

4. Bakersfield Jam

5. Utah Flash

6. Austin Toros

7. Reno Bighorns

8. Maine Red Claws

9. Iowa Energy

10. Fort Wayne Mad Ants

11. Dakota Wizards

12. Rio Grande Valley Vipers

13. Sioux Falls Skyforce

14. Springfield Armor

15. Idaho Stampede

16. Tulsa 66ers