Santa Cruz Warriors to Pick 15th in 2013 NBA D-League Draft
Santa Cruz Warriors Scheduled To Make Ten Selections on Draft Night

The Santa Cruz Warriors will select 15th overall in the 2013 NBA Development League Draft, which will take place on Friday, November 1 at 4:00 p.m. Pacific time. Santa Cruz Warriors coaches and management will communicate with the NBA D-League from its headquarters in New York via Cisco WebEx Meeting Center.

“Each year, the talent pool in the NBA D-League Draft gets stronger and stronger,” said Santa Cruz Warriors General Manager Kirk Lacob. “This crop of more than 200 young prospects is the best yet, and I’m excited to select players who will add depth to our roster and help us win games.”

The Santa Cruz Warriors have ten picks in the 2013 NBA D-League Draft, including the fifteenth selection in the first round, the third selection in the second round, four picks in the third round, and then one each in rounds five through eight. This year, the first six rounds of the Draft are mandatory, while teams may opt not to select players in the seventh and eighth rounds.

The first eight picks in the 2013 NBA D-League Draft were awarded to teams who did not qualify for the 2013 NBA D-League playoffs, in reverse order of their regular season records. The Delaware 87ers, making their NBA D-League debut for the 2013-14 season, will select ninth. The subsequent eight picks in the Draft will go to those teams who did qualify for the 2013 NBA D-League playoffs, also in reverse order of regular season record.

Last year, the Santa Cruz Warriors selected Travis Leslie 13th overall in the first draft in the history of the team. Leslie, a constant top prospect, earned a GATORATE Call-Up to the NBA and was named the NBA D-League All-Star Game Most Valuable Player.

Below is the draft order for the first round of the 2013 NBA D-League Draft:

  1. Iowa Energy
  2. Rio Grande Valley Vipers (from Reno Bighorns)
  3. Springfield Armor
  4. Idaho Stampede
  5. Texas Legends
  6. Iowa Energy (from Los Angeles D-Fenders)
  7. Sioux Falls Skyforce
  8. Erie BayHawks
  9. Delaware 87ers
  10. Maine Red Claws
  11. Tulsa 66ers
  12. Austin Toros
  13. Canton Charge (from Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
  14. Canton Charge
  16. Rio Grande Valley Vipers
  17. Bakersfield Jam