Stefhon Hannah Named NBA Development League Defensive Player of the Year for Second Consecutive Season

Santa Cruz Warriors guard Stefhon Hannah has been selected as the NBA Development League’s Defensive Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s 16 head coaches, it was announced today. The award is the second consecutive for Hannah, who earned the honor last season as a member of the Dakota Wizards.

In his third NBA D-League season, Hannah (6-1, 175, Missouri) appeared in 49 games for Santa Cruz, 47 as a starter, averaging 14.0 points, 5.1 assists, 3.7 rebounds and 29.9 minutes. His 2.0 steals per game was tied for second in the NBA D-League. Hannah led the defensive efforts on a Santa Cruz team that surrendered only 96.8 points per game, holding opponents to only 41 percent shooting from the field.

His defensive abilities helped Santa Cruz to a 32-18 record during the regular season and the third seed in the 2013 NBA D-League Playoffs. In three playoff games, all wins, Hannah averaged 19.3 points, 6.0 assists, 2.0 rebounds and 32.7 minutes.

“Stefhon’s consistency on the defensive end has been impressive all season long, and being selected by the league’s coaches as the Defensive Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons is a tremendous accomplishment,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “His dedication to defense will hold him in good stead as he earns a spot as a top prospect in our League, and I couldn’t be happier to congratulate him on the award.”

Hannah becomes only the second player in NBA D-League history to win an end-of-season award in back-to-back seasons, joining Derrick Zimmerman who was named Defensive Player of the Year in 2005 and 2006.

All-Time NBA D-League Defensive Players of the Year:
Stefhon Hannah (Dakota Wizards, 2011-12)
Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards, 2010-11)
Greg Stiemsma* (Sioux Falls Skyforce, 2009-10)
Brent Petway (Idaho Stampede, 2008-09)
Stefane Lasme (Los Angeles D-Fenders, 2007-08)
Mouhamed Sene (Idaho Stampede, 2007-08)
Renaldo Major (Dakota Wizards, 2006-07)
Derrick Zimmerman (Austin Toros, 2005-06)
Derrick Zimmerman (Columbus Riverdragons, 2004-05)
Karim Shabazz (Charleston Lowgators, 2003-04)
Mikki Moore (Roanoke Dazzle, 2002-03)
Jeff Myers (Greenville Groove, 2001-02)

*Indicates current NBA player