Humphrey and Johnson Selected to Participate in Dream Factory presented by Haier

February 20, 2012

McAllen, TEXAS – Lee Humphrey and Tyren Johnson have been selected to participate in the NBA Development League Dream Factory presented by Hair. The Dream Factory is an innovative skills competition modeled after the popular NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm. It returns for the fifth consecutive year to Center Court at the NBA Jam Session on Saturday, Feb. 25.

Humphrey will compete in the 3-Point Competition, while Johnson has been chosen to participate in the Shooting Starts Competition.

For the first time, the Dream Factory Dunk Contest presented by Haier will take place at halftime of the 2012 NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by 26 Seconds, which begins at 2pm ET, and will be broadcast live on NBA TV. The 3-Point Competition and the Shooting Stars, both also presented by Haier, will take place following the conclusion of the NBA D-League All-Star Game and will be streamed live on

High-flying dunkers Zachary Andrews (Los Angeles D-Fenders), Osiris Eldridge (Bakersfield Jam), Terrico White (Idaho Stampede) and L.D. Williams (Springfield Armor) will showcase their dunking skills live on NBA TV in the Dream Factory Dunk Contest. The two-round competition allows for each player to complete two dunks in Round One, with four judges each awarding between six and 10 points for every made dunk. The two players with the highest composite scores after Round One move on to Round Two. The player with the highest composite score of the two possible dunks in Round Two is crowned the champion.

The third-annual Shooting Stars Competition features 12 NBA D-League talents competing in four teams of three in a two-round timed shooting event. This year’s competitors NBA D-League All-Stars Marqus Blakely (Sioux Falls Skyforce), Jerome Dyson (Tulsa 66ers) Keith McLeod (Erie ByaHawks), Elijah Milsap (Los Angeles), Jerry Smith (Springfield) and Edwin Ubiles (Dakota Wizards). Rounding out the field are Eldridge, also competing in the Dunk Contest, Lawrence Hill (Maine Red Claws), Tyren Johnson (Rio Grande Valley Vipers), Cameron Jones (Fort Wayne Mad Ants), Leo Lyons (Austin Toros), and White, another competitor in the Dunk Competition.

The contest features six numbered shooting locations of increasing difficulty, with each team attempting to make all shots in numeric order in the fastest time. Each team will select a specific player rotation to follow throughout the competition. Each shot must be made before the next player begins shooting in succession. Teams have up to two minutes to complete the entire shooting course, and the team that completes all six shots in the least amount of time is the winner. In the case of a tie, a shoot-off will be used to determine the champion.

A pair of 3-Point Competition champions, Booker Woodfox (Texas Legends), who won in 2011 and Blake Ahearn (Reno Bighorns), who was victorious in the event in 2009, face off against sharp shooters Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy) and Lee Humphrey (Rio Grande Valley Vipers) in the 2012 Dream Factory 3-Point Competition. The Competition has two rounds, featuring a moveable ‘Money Rack’ consisting of all ‘Money’ balls, each worth three points. From the field of four, the two players with the highest scores will move on to Round Two and the player with the highest score in Round Two is the winner.

About Haier America

Based in the landmark Haier Building in midtown Manhattan, Haier America is a division of the multinational Haier Group, the world’s #1 major appliance brand as ranked by Euromonitor International 2011, and a global leader in consumer electronics. Haier employs more than 70,000 people around the world and distributes products in more than 165 countries and regions with global revenues reaching $20.7 billion in 2010. Haier is an Official Marketing Partner and the Official High Definition Television of the NBA, and proud supporter of the National Parks Conservation Association. For more information, please visit You can also become a Fan of Haier America on or follow Haier America via Twitter @haieramerica.

About the NBA Development League

The NBA Development League, founded in 2001, is the NBA’s official minor league. Featuring 16 teams with direct affiliations to NBA franchises, the NBA D-League is a proven developer of talent: 23 percent of players in the NBA at the conclusion of the 2010-11 season boasted NBA D-League experience, and the league continues to develop coaches, referees, and front-office staff for the NBA and its teams. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs. The NBA D-League also advances the game of basketball as the research and development arm of the NBA. Throughout the league’s upcoming 11th season, fans can watch all NBA D-League games on NBA FUTURECAST, the free live Web-streaming initiative found at