Print RSS Sign-Up for Insider

Williams, Woodfox Win Showcase Dunk And Three-Point Contests

SOUTH PADRE ISLAND, TEXAS, Jan. 12, 2011 – L.D. Williams of the Springfield Armor was triumphant in the inaugural NBA D-League Showcase Slam Dunk Contest, while Booker Woodfox of the Texas Legends won the first-ever NBA D-League Showcase Three-Point Contest at the South Padre Island Convention Centre on Wednesday night.

Williams, a 6-4, 215-pound guard out of Wake Forest, scored 95 in the final round, besting the Dakota Wizards’ Chris Johnson, who scored 80. Woodfox, a 6-1, 185-pound guard out of Creighton, won the Three-Point Contest with a final-round score of 32, edging Marcus Landry of the Reno Bighorns, who scored 20.

Each competition will air on VERSUS on Jan. 15 and Jan. 29.

The five judges of the Slam Dunk Contest were Texas Legends owner and Dallas Mavericks general manager and president of basketball operations Donnie Nelson, Houston Rockets general manager Daryl Morey, Idaho Stampede assistant coach and former NBA player Greg Minor, senior writer Marc Stein and writer Art Garcia.

The Three-Point Contest featured several innovations, including a moveable ‘Money Rack’ consisting of all ‘Money’ balls and increased points awarded for shots made from deeper shooting spots.

The full results of each competition are listed below.


Round 1
Booker Woodfox (Texas Legends): 22
Marcus Landry (Reno Bighorns): 17
Andre Ingram (Utah Flash): 16
Jamar Smith (Maine Red Claws): 15*
Corey Allmond (Fort Wayne Mad Ants): 15
Robert Vaden (Tulsa 66ers): 14
Chris Lofton (Iowa Energy): 13
Scottie Reynolds (Springfield Armor): 8

*Smith won tiebreaker round over Allmond, 9-7.

Round 2
Marcus Landry (Reno Bighorns) 38
Booker Woodfox (Texas Legends) 36
Andre Ingram (Utah Flash) 28
Jamar Smith (Maine Red Claws) 23

Final Round
Booker Woodfox (Texas Legends) 32
Marcus Landry (Reno Bighorns) 20


Round 1
Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards): 45-42--87
L.D. Williams (Springfield Armor): 42-39--81
Marqus Blakely (Bakersfield Jam): 36-41--77
Dar Tucker (New Mexico Thunderbirds): 40-30--70

Final Round
L.D. Williams (Springfield Armor): 46-49--95
Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards): 43-37--80