Othyus Jeffers Named NBA D-League Rookie of the Year

Othyus Jeffers, Iowa Energy.
Dick Carlson/NBAE/Getty Images

NEW YORK, April 10, 2009 – Iowa Energy guard Othyus Jeffers, who ranks in the top 10 in scoring, rebounding and steals, has been selected by the League’s 16 head coaches as the NBA Development League’s 2008-09 Rookie of the Year.

“Othyus is a warrior. He competes every night, puts winning first and foremost in his mind and refuses to be denied,” said Energy head coach Nick Nurse. “He is absolutely deserving of the award and he gets a lot of credit in my book. In my 19 years of coaching he is without a doubt the most competitive player I’ve ever worked with.”

In 46 games (31 starts) for Iowa, Jeffers is averaging 20.9 points on 53 percent (354-for-667) shooting from the field, to go with 9.1 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.1 steals, helping the Energy to a 27-22 record, good for first place in the Central Division. Jeffers, an NAIA All-America selection at Robert Morris College, also participated in this year’s NBA D-League All-Star Game in Phoenix, scoring 14 points on 6-for-9 shooting from the field.

Jeffers, who earned All-NBA Development League Honorable Mention honors, joins Blake Ahearn (Dakota, 2007-08), Louis Amundson (Colorado, 2006-07), Will Bynum (Roanoke 2005-06), James Thomas (Roanoke 2004-05), Desmond Penigar (Asheville, 2003-04), Devin Brown (Fayetteville, 2002-03) and Fred House (Charleston, 2001-02) as winners of the annual award.

“In a season filled with talented rookie performances, Othyus' contributions to his team's success stood out,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “He demonstrated all season that he is a tremendous player and a top young prospect. With hard work and determination, he has used the NBA D-League as a platform to display his abilities to NBA scouts. There is no doubt that Othyus has a bright future ahead of him.”