Print RSS Sign-Up for Insider

Today's Scenarios

Sunday, April 8, 2012
First-Round Pairings
  • No. 1 seed Los Angeles D-Fenders chose No. 8 seed Iowa Energy
  • No. 2 Springfield Armor chose No. 7 Canton Charge
  • No. 3 Austin Toros chose No. 6 Erie BayHawks
  • No. 4 Dakota Wizards chose No. 5 Bakersfield Jam
  • Through virtue of the secondary tiebreaker (Record vs. opponents with a .500 record or better) Springfield has placed first in the East Conference. Springfield was 11-10 compared to Dakota's record of 11-11.
  • Dakota finished as the fourth seed after losing to Fort Wayne.

How the Playoffs Work

  • Eight teams make the postseason -- the top team in each conference, followed by the next six teams, by record (regardless of conference)
  • The top three teams 'draft' their first-round opponents from the bottom four Playoff teams: No. 1 overall seed gets first pick; No. 2 gets second, No. 3 gets third
  • Teams cannot draft a first-round opponent from the top 4 (ie: Top 4 teams must play bottom 4 teams)
  • Once bracket is set, it does not re-seed

Playoff Moving Pictures

Key Dates to Know

  • April 7: Last day of the NBA D-League regular season
  • April 8: Top three seeds choose their first-round opponents
  • April 10: First possible day of NBA D-League Playoffs