NBA D-League Playoffs 101

Here is everything you need to know about the unique structure of the NBA D-League Playoffs.

The eight-team field for the 2014 NBA D-League Playoffs is finalized (see standings), but there is still much to be figured out in terms of matchups and seedings during the season's final weekend. The NBA D-League playoff structure differs from most sport leagues, which makes this final weekend that much more exciting.

Here are some key bullet points to know.

  • The three division winners get to pick thier first-round opponents from the wildcard teams with the four worst regular season records

  • The three division winners are not automatically the No. 1, No. 2, and No. 3 seeds; Seeds are determined based on regular season record

  • A wildcard team could have a higher seed, but still be eligible to be picked by a division winner

  • The higher seeded team will always host games 2-3, regardless of division-winning status
  • The 2014 NBA D-League playoffs will begin no earlier than Wednesday, April 9, with a full schedule to be announced on Sunday, April 6, following the pick-your-opponent selection teleconference.