D-League Will No Longer Operate In Fayetteville

GREENVILLE, S.C., May 2, 2006 – The NBA Development League announced today that the NBA will no longer operate a team in Fayetteville, N.C.

“We worked very hard over five years to try to build the level of support that we needed to continue. We are saddened that it doesn’t make solid business sense to continue,” D-League President Phil Evans said. “The staff there devoted countless hours to making the Patriots a viable family entertainment option in Fayetteville.”

The D-League has announced seven new markets for the 2006-07 season. Those include Anaheim (Calif.), the Bakersfield Jam (Calif.), the Colorado 14ers (Broomfield), Dakota Wizards (Bismarck, N.D.), Idaho Stampede (Boise), a team to be owned by the NBA Los Angeles Lakers and the Sioux Falls Skyforce (S.D.). Those teams will join the Albuquerque Thunderbirds (N.M.), Arkansas RimRockers (Little Rock), Austin Toros (Texas), Florida Flame (Ft. Myers), Fort Worth Flyers (Texas) and Tulsa 66ers (Okla.).