2009-10 Schedule
NBA Futurecast
2008-09 Results
Dan Reed's Blog
NBA TV Schedule
NBA Team Affiliations

James White Soars To NBA D-League Slam Dunk Championship

James White
Joe Murphy/Getty Images/NBAE

PHOENIX, Feb. 13, 2009 – James White of the Anaheim Arsenal, Will Conroy of the Albuquerque Thunderbirds, and Blake Ahearn of the Dakota Wizards all came away victorious at the second annual NBA D-League Dream Factory Friday Night skills competition, which took place on Center Court at NBA Jam Session presented by adidas at the Phoenix Convention Center.

The action-packed evening featured a game of H.O.R.S.E., a Three-Point Shoot-Out and a Slam Dunk Competition.

White got the Slam Dunk Competition off to an electric start when he hit an end-to-end jam from the baseline in his first dunk followed by a two-hand coast-to-coast slam. In the second round, White faced off against Tulsa’s Keith Clark who advanced to the second round on a perfect-scoring windmill dunk from the corner with the aid of 66ers teammate Gary Forbes. In the decisive last round, White scored a perfect 100 points (50 on each dunk) after first jumping over Conroy, who was seated and holding a ball under the basket, before slamming down a one-handed dunk. He then closed the round with an explosive full-court windmill jam. In the first round, 2008 NBA D-League Slam Dunk Champion Brent Petway worked to maintain his title, while Iowa’s Othyus Jeffers was unable to advance to the Finals.

In the Three-Point Shoot-Out, the night’s second competition, Ahearn, the 2008 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year, defeated Rio Grande Valley’s Ernest Scott by a score of 22 to 19, sinking four of the five money balls in the last rack, a new twist on the contest that was being tested for potential inclusion in NBA All-Star Saturday Night. Ahearn advanced to the finals having scored 23 in the first round, while Scott secured his finals spot with a first-round score of 20 points. Bakersfield’s Trey Johnson and Tulsa’s Gary Forbes finished with 16 and 18 points in the first round, respectively.

In the evening’s first competition, Conroy, the NBA D-League’s leading scorer, dethroned reigning champion Lance Allred when he sunk a through-the-legs-off-the-backboard lay-up for the win.