Idaho’s Brent Petway Named NBA D-League Defensive Player of the Year

Brent Petway
Juan Ocampo/Getty Images/NBAE

NEW YORK, April 7, 2009 – Idaho Stampede forward Brent Petway has been selected as the NBA Development League’s Defensive Player of the Year by a vote of the League’s 16 head coaches. NBA D-League President Dan Reed will present Petway with the award prior to the Stampede’s game on April 8 against the Bakersfield Jam at Qwest Arena in Boise.

Petway, the lone Stampede player to appear in all 45 games (all starts), ranks second in the league in blocks (2.1 bpg). Petway has tallied at least two blocks in 23 games and four or more blocks on eight occasions, including a season-high seven blocks on Dec. 27, 2008 vs Sioux Falls. The second-year player is averaging 10.1 points and 4.2 rebounds this season.

“I’m so proud of Brent and his season-long dedication to defense,” said Stampede head coach Bryan Gates. “He makes our opponents’ best scorers take tough shots - he’s a big reason why we’re as successful as we are this season.”

Petway anchors one of the best defenses in the NBA D-League. The Stampede holds opponents to a league-low .440 field goal percentage and ranks third in opponent scoring (99.1 ppg). Only Colorado (282) recorded more blocks than Idaho’s 257.

“It is nice to see the coaches recognize Brent for his hard work, determination, and energy on the defensive end of the floor,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “His passion and dedication to guarding the opposing team's top offensive player make him a valuable player for any team. Also, his terrific footwork, long arms, athleticism and anticipation make him a formidable defensive presence and a game-changer.”

Petway joins Stephane Lasme (Los Angeles Defenders, 2007-08) and Mouhamed Sene (Idaho Stampede 2007-08), Renaldo Major (Dakota, 2006-07), Derrick Zimmerman (Austin 2005-06, Columbus 2004-05), Karim Shabazz (Charleston 2003-04), Mikki Moore (Roanoke 2002-03) and Jeff Myers (Greenville 2001-02) as winners of the Defensive Player of the Year Award.