Canton's Alex Jensen Named 2012-13 NBA D-League Coach of the Year

Canton swept through the East division this year, en route to a franchise-best 30 wins

NEW YORK, April 22, 2013 – Canton Charge head coach Alex Jensen was today named the winner of the Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year award, as voted by his fellow NBA Development League head coaches.

Jensen guided a Canton team that recorded a franchise-best 30 victories during the 2012-13 regular season, en route to an East Division title and the fourth seed in the 2013 NBA D-League Playoffs. In the postseason, Jensen’s Charge was defeated by the Tulsa 66ers in the first round.

The 2012-13 NBA D-League campaign, Jensen’s second with the Charge, saw the team lead the league in scoring defense, allowing only 96.0 points per game while limiting its opponents to only 30 percent shooting from behind the three-point arc. Jensen’s Charge held opponents under 100 points in 27 times and under 90 points in 17 contests.

Hired in October 2011, Jensen has helmed the Charge during the team’s first two years of existence, compiling a 57-43 regular season and a 4-5 postseason record during his tenure and overseeing the development of three players to earn GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA from Canton.

“Alex’s commitment to winning and his dedication to development have propelled the Charge to an impressive second campaign,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “Under his watchful eye, the Charge has not only achieved on-court success, as evidenced by back-to-back trips to the NBA D-League postseason, but has produced NBA-caliber players and aided in the progress of a number of Cleveland Cavaliers. I congratulate him on another successful season and this well-deserved honor.”

The award is named in honor of the late Dennis Johnson, NBA Legend and former Austin Toros head coach who was enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in August 2010. In his playing career, Johnson won three NBA titles with the Boston Celtics and Seattle SuperSonics, played in five NBA All-Star games and was named to the All-Defensive First Team six times. He served as interim head coach of the Los Angeles Clippers in 2002, and was in his third season coaching in the NBA D-League when he passed away.

All-Time Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Recipients:
2011-12: Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders
2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy
2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers
2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros
2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede
2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede